Feathered Totem


Photo: David Slotto Palm Desert 4/11

Photo: David Slotto
Palm Desert 4/11

I am…
the cawing raven
crying magic, mystery,
circling your life with
power of creation.

I am…
the brilliance of the eagle
spanning space between the earth
and sky, carrying your spirit
to the top of distant mountains.

I am…
the lowly mourning dove
echoing the sound of longing
deep within your emptiness
that God alone can fill.

I am…
the joy of hummingbird
dancing in the morning dew,
drinking golden nectar,
nourishing your soul.

Linked to Marina Sofia’s prompt for dVerse Poetics. Come on over and welcome her as our newest pubtender. The prompt is to write about animals. The photo is of the Leucistic Hummingbird that visited us in April, 2011.

30 thoughts on “Feathered Totem

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    This is just beautiful. I love birds, especially tummies. I love the image of them all stacked as totem, and claimed as spirit animals. Great.

    Like

  2. rmp says:

    I can picture the totem…one figure atop another carved tenderly with your words. lovely!

    Like

  3. kkkkaty says:

    Bird lovers are so happy for spring…for the returning sightings of so many breeds….sweet, Victoria.

    Like

  4. what a great imagery of birds you draw out the character of yourself…. the hummingbird — such a joyful picture i wish we could have here too.

    Like

  5. I love this and the variety of birds you’ve used to express yourself. Can’t wait for things to flower and for the hummingbirds to show up here.

    Like

  6. wolfsrosebud says:

    Perfect as birds are flocking through as spring has slowly…. returned

    Like

  7. Angela says:

    Lovely, Victoria. It reminds of the Native America Medicine Totem animals… that we are all of them, at different times. And, on a larger scale, are all one and the same with nature. Wonderful poem :-).

    Like

  8. Lasha says:

    Wonderful pic to go with ur poem mam……………

    Like

  9. MarinaSofia says:

    Four animals for the price of one, Victoria, how lovely! And yes, that mix of innocence, beauty, danger, mystery which is in all of us…
    I so hope to see a hummingbird some day!

    Like

  10. Your words are beautiful! Wonderful shot of humming bird!

    Like

  11. We are many things, and birds have many desirable qualities. Your poem is beautiful.

    Like

  12. kamana says:

    i dont think i have ever seen a hummingbird. we dont get them here, but i have always been fascinated by them.

    Like

  13. claudia says:

    i like the birds and symbolism… the freedom and brilliance of the eagle and the hummingbird joy… i’ve seen my first ever hummingbird in california…smiles

    Like

  14. This is so beautiful. I love the correlation between the birds’ qualities and antics and our own.

    Like

  15. PassionPoet says:

    Wow … this is beautiful … I love the repetition of the “I am” .. this is a beautiful piece .. light and airy like the birds!

    Like

  16. Glenn Buttkus says:

    There is no other sound as pleasing, as lovely, as that hum, that very audible behemoth bumble-bee hum, that those birds make. I often wonder why they are so attracted to the color red on their feeders; that and the honey dripped into the water.

    Like

  17. Pamela says:

    Victoria, what a soul soothing poem, thank you for this. I love hummingbirds and wish I could capture them in a photo like your husband does. They visit my garden every day, they love the flowers on the agave plants.

    Pamela

    Like

  18. The sound of the lowly mourning dove..profound moving and inspirational. This coincides with a marvellous book I have just read
    ” Mans Search For Meaning ” Vicktor Frankl.
    It takes a long time to realise that the emptiness can only be filled by a connection to the Divine.

    Like

  19. Grace says:

    This reads like a beautiful prayer, Victoria ~

    Someday I would like to have a bird feeder so I can see their beautiful colors and hear their sounds ~

    Like

  20. I enjoyed this Victoria, hummingbirds I don’t see down under, but I have seen film of them fascinating birds indeed.

    Like

  21. ayala says:

    I love this, Victoria. Great photo as well. 🙂

    Like

  22. I will be wishing you and Zoe well, and hope all works out well for the poor little girl. Thanks for telling me about her!

    Like

  23. lynndiane says:

    Very lovely poem of four of God’s amazing feathered creatures!

    Like

  24. SO beautiful! I, too, loved the hummingbird stanza best. Our feeders just got hung up today!

    Like

  25. Brian Miller says:

    nice…i love your play with the birds…and the positive spin on the raven as well….the mystery…the majesty of an eagle…i love the little hummers…they visit me on the porch often….

    Like

  26. Mary says:

    You have chosen four beautiful, but different, birds to write about. I enjoyed each of your poems. I love thinking about the hummingbird dancing in the mountain dew. I seldom see hummingbirds, but when I do it is a special day!!

    Like

  27. White humingbird? Wow!

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

