Vigil


 

Across the pathway,

beyond her garden, behind drawn blinds,

my neighbor, my friend, awaits rebirth.

 

The flowers she tended

weep dew.

Photo: David Slotto

Photo: David Slotto

I wrote this short poem for Day 3 of National Poetry Month. A dear friend is dying, after about ten years battling ovarian cancer. It’s hard to believe that she was my partner a week ago Tuesday in a little golf event for my league in which we invited the “Lady Putters” to play with us. We hit the ball to the green and the putter putted out. We were pathetic. Gerry was literally dying and I was really overwhelmed, but grateful to be with her. This photo is one taken about five years ago for the same event. She was in the middle of one of her six rounds of chemo. (I won’t post the one taken this year. It’s not how I want to remember her). This lady has taught me so much about courage and a positive attitude. She never complained–just kept on living. I’m linking another poem I wrote earlier in the the about her HERE.

Godspeed dear friend.

Also linking to dVerse Meeting the Bar where Claudia asks us to express emotion without saying what it is. I will be late in responding since my little girl dog has to have surgery today on her spine. She has terrible pain that medications don’t touch. Please keep her in your thoughts/prayers. Thank you.

43 thoughts on “Vigil

  1. Such moments seem to me to be both raw and precious, something you capture in this poem. Thank you!

    Like

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    So difficult, Victoria. I’m so sorry. The poem captures the emotion and breaks our hearts. “The flowers she tended weep dew…” says it all, how you feel, how she’ll be missed. Lovely and painful … and the photograph is a treasure.

    Like

  3. Barry Dawson says:

    Beautiful tribute to your friend. You both are in my thoughts and I offer my deepest sympathies.

    Like

  4. Rest peacefully, Gerry. April 4, 2014 1600 PDT

    Like

  5. Truedessa says:

    Words that touch the heart..awaiting rebirth..a new beginning..

    Like

  6. …and the flowers weep. But the heavens shout, “We are ready for you, because YOU are ready for us. Eternity is now….and quoth the angel, “EVERMORE”.

    Victoria, your words
    show us the way…
    to follow one day
    your wonderful friend!

    Like

  7. How beautiful her spirit..i see it in her..eyes..there is death in life..
    and life in death…
    and the now of living..
    ievermore…:)
    nOW

    Like

  8. Misky says:

    Oh my. Heartfelt.

    Like

  9. vbholmes says:

    Such an accomplishment–to affect so many with so few words. My thoughts go out to you, your friend and your little girl dog.

    Like

  10. You do what I do, Victoria. You write it out to ride it out. Godspeed to your dear friend. A warm and supportive embrace to you.

    Like

  11. tigerbrite says:

    It made me want to weep too. Condolences Victoria.

    Like

  12. othermary says:

    This is so touching, and more so for all you don’t include.

    Like

  13. Oh Victoria, to you, thoughts and strength, to your beautiful friend her path will be graced with flowers ever blooming, thank you.

    Like

  14. kamana says:

    beautifully expressed

    Like

  15. Your sadness disguised with broad smiles is the only way to keep going through such a terrible time. My sympathy is reaching out to you.

    Like

  16. Susan says:

    Hw difficult to write about the beauty of this vigil of narrator and flowers without mentioning the back story. The poem drips with love, as thick as the dew.

    Like

  17. Carl says:

    Your compassion is powerful and reassuring.

    Like

  18. brian miller says:

    ah i hope that neighbor gets her rebirth v…
    the line on the weeping dew is quite evocative….

    Like

  19. lynndiane says:

    My sympathy to you, Victoria, in losing a friend to cancer…she was a brave heart.

    Like

  20. rmp says:

    a very powerful, touching and truly heartfelt piece. dew crests on my eyelashes even as I write this. beautiful.

    Like

  21. Laurie Kolp says:

    Aww… you’ve made me all teary-eyed. I’m so sorry you are losing your friend.

    Like

  22. Powerful and so touching…what a brave lady and how lucky you both are to have such a friendship. Trying times bring out so much strength and love.

    Like

  23. kkkkaty says:

    Very touching Victoria….as we age and many of our peers are gradually leaving us, this is a wonderful poem to keep in mind, memorize in fact. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  24. kaykuala says:

    It is such moments that one can be a great friend One need not even have to do anything different or extra. Mere presence from a golfing buddy is such a tremendous boost. Thanks for sharing Victoria!

    Hank

    Like

  25. I am sorry Victoria to hear of this very sad and difficult time for you.

    Like

  26. billgncs says:

    very nice – what a strong spirit she had, to fight for so long.

    Like

  27. Victoria these few lines say so much about your friend and yourself. I hope her rebirth is a smooth transition.

    Like

  28. scillagrace says:

    I’m grateful for her courage and your kindness. Steady on, friends!

    Like

  29. Bryan Ens says:

    your poem was already powerful before I read the story behind it…and then I re-read the poem and the power was tenfold.

    Like

  30. My heart breaks for you . . . what a beautiful poem for such a dear friend.

    Like

  31. Pamela says:

    How terribly sad, Victoria, you express the pain you feel quite eloquently here. Best wishes for your little dog too.

    Pamela

    Like

  32. Gabriella says:

    Victoria, you have conveyed a lot within these few words. This is very sad and moving poem. It is never easy to lose loved ones, and even worse when we know they are suffering.
    I hope your dog soon feels better.

    Like

  33. kelly says:

    Oh my, such an effective use of this prompt, but I am so sorry for the circumstance behind it. Godspeed, yes.

    Like

  34. MarinaSofia says:

    Oh, my , Victoria, what a double whammy of emotions you must be going through… Keep strong.
    There is a Buddhist serenity about this poem – and the dew for mourning/grieving is a recurring image in classical Japanese literature.

    Like

  35. Joseph Hesch says:

    Seen so much of this lately, Victoria. Your poem gave me a tiny gasp and a catch in my throat. Best of luck with your little friend.

    Like

  36. so softly crafted… thanks for sharing, Victoria

    Like

  37. What a stunningly courageous lady. I hope she has an easy transition. Heavens, life is so tough, sometimes. I can’t say much more, but send love. A beautiful poem.

    Like

  38. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Powerful, poignant, empathetic, loving–all mantled in Tanka-like brevity; a marvelous emotional foray in few words; hugs to you, white light to the neighbor, for death is a doorway & we must not forget that.

    Like

  39. The image of flowers weeping dew is so very strong.. So much sorrow to have a friend dying… The rebirth is a strong solace.

    Like

  40. Grace says:

    I like how you framed death as rebirth ~ The flowers weeping dew speaks volumes ~ How sad to lose a dear friend ~

    Like

  41. claudia says:

    oh victoria…i’m so sorry to hear about your friend… it’s tough… i love the image of the flowers she tended weeping dew… her hand and care missed… you did a fantastic job in bringing the emotions across… hope as well the surgery for your little dog goes well

    Like

  42. Mary says:

    Very poignant, Victoria. I understand “awaiting rebirth”….and may it come soon and painlessly. She has had quite a struggle, has apparently fought the battle for a long time.

    Hope your dog does well today too. Such a worry when one’s beloved pet has surgery….since we can’t share words with them….and they don’t understand what is happening with them.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

