Life Plus Five


Reno Gazette Journal June 24, 2006 “79-year old found guilty of killing former boyfriend.”

ATLANTA-A 79-year-old woman accused of shooting her ex-boyfriend because their romance had ended was convicted of murder Friday. Lena Driskell was sentenced to life in prison plus five years. She was immediately taken into custody, and defense attorneys said she would not be eligible for parole for 30 years. Driskell shot 85-year-old Herman Winslow in June 2005 at the assisted living home where they both resided. After she was arrested, police said she was angry that their romance had ended and he was seeing another woman.

Photo: Turbosquid.com

Photo: Turbosquid.com

Life, Plus 5

Guess that showed the sonofabitch

85-year-old womanizer

you were pissed,

 

were serious about monogamy.

Showed the rest of us love

isn’t reserved for sleek bodies,

 

old age isn’t sexless or without passion

(and should be reinvented now that I’m old myself).

 

While you’re in prison,

(which isn’t that different from an Assisted Living Facility

or a 79-year-old body),

 

keep in mind you don’t need

to be defined by someone else.

You are enough for life plus five years.

 

In response to Bjorn’s fun prompt for dVerse Meeting the Bar. Please join us…invite a friend!

Sorry to resort to a previously posted poem but it seems to fit the prompt. If a quiet moment should emerge from this temporary chaos, I am playing with another headline and waiting to see where it will take me.

28 thoughts on “Life Plus Five

  1. Grace says:

    Passion has no time limits but ironic on the life sentence + 5 years 🙂

    Like

  2. Truedessa says:

    A crime of passion..the heart hurts no matter the age..

    Like

  3. hypercryptical says:

    Excellent. Crimes of passion know no boundaries of age for we all want/need to be wanted.
    Anna :o]

    Like

  4. biggerthanalasagna says:

    Wow, this is fascinating. I worked in a “Health and Rehabilitation Center” and one night one of the residents tried to stab another with a butter knife. He thought she was his wife.

    Like

  5. lynndiane says:

    It’s a jolting story and intriguing poem from any angle…a crime of passion, indeed, and glad you shared (worth a repeat)

    Like

  6. dkirkstokes says:

    I can relate. : ) After being married twice, I found the love of my life in my mid-60’s. She’s a good shot, so I’m very careful. : )

    Like

  7. Bryan Ens says:

    who says that seniors can’t be passionate! Quite the story, and amazing poem!

    Like

  8. CC Champagne says:

    I have to echo Manicdaily on this… Where on earth did she get/why did she have a gun??? The whole thing is surreal to me, somehow, but well worth thinking about. Enjoyed the read!

    Like

  9. ManicDdaily says:

    I have to say that I wonder why the woman had a gun–but that was Georgia, right? Very cool poem. k.

    Like

  10. Sumana Roy says:

    my…truth is stranger than fiction…

    Like

  11. I’d be crying if I weren’t laughing so much!

    Like

  12. Rallentanda says:

    Poor Lena. Maybe she did it to get better accomodation and food.

    Like

  13. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    I think it’s an excellent choice for the prompt.

    Like

  14. kamana says:

    wow, what passion.

    Like

  15. rbhexem says:

    Ya, that showed that old two-timing bastard!!
    did I just say that? oh my gosh, I did, didn’t I!!
    well, I’ll have her spank me when she gets home..

    Like

  16. ayala says:

    So perfect for the prompt 🙂

    Like

  17. kkkkaty1 says:

    Ironic and I don’t imagine her life to have changed much…I mean talk about using a man like a kleenex and tossing him out!

    Like

  18. grapeling says:

    torn between laughing and feeling sorry for her. not for him – what a way to go 🙂 ~

    Like

  19. I’m laughing – this is so so so good. It’s true she’s probably getting better care in prison!

    Like

  20. Lovely story Victoria, I like that idea that love and passion doesn’t die with age, as I well know.

    Like

  21. there is no age limit for the pleasures in life we all crave, naturally. It gets on my nerves when people think just bcus someone is beyond a certain age, they don’t want passion anymore… ugh. sad stories nonetheless.

    Like

  22. brian miller says:

    ha. that is one way to look at it….smiles…hey i am glad she still has spunk…my what love will do to you eh? cant imagine prison being much fun at any age…but especially older…

    Like

  23. Life, plus 5 years? I do shake my head at sentences like that, because really, isn’t life sufficient? A very clever poem – recycling is good… 🙂

    Like

  24. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Is there sex after death, he asked; sure, she said, death is sex; nice dramatic & funny bit of news; good use of something old for something new.

    Like

  25. claudia says:

    oh heck… now that is a story… love and rage certainly have no age limit… though i wish she hadn’t shot him

    Like

  26. I think that life plus five might be less costly in a case like this as well… it also proves that there is no age limit to philandering either

    Like

  27. Linda says:

    I guess crimes of passion know no limits. Thanks for including the newsclip!

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

