Tilus by the Dozen–dVerse Meeting the Bar


Micro Poetry–a form created by Kelvin S. M. that is the prompt today for dVerse Meeting the Bar. I’m hostess and hope you will drop over and share one of your own. It’s fun. Each stanza is a stand-alone poem but when I got going, I couldn’t put the brakes on!

Photo: betchaitluc.com

Photo: betchaitluc.com

 

i.

night falls; moon hides behind

cloud cover

 

— faith.

 

ii.

croaking frogs lie in wait

wanting to

 

mate.

 

iii.

smiling dandelions

dot the lawn—

 

gold.

 

iv.

toking deep breaths of out-

side freshness—

 

air.

 

v.

predators spill blood on

forest floors—

 

death.

 

vi.

morning stillness hovers,

waits to greet

 

life.

 

vii.

river trickles eastward

regretting

 

drought.

 

viii.

finches chant morning lauds

four A.M.—

 

Yawn.

 

ix.

slather me in sunshine,

warm my heart,

 

spring.

 

x.

weeds have taken over,

nestle in

 

dirt.

 

xi.

Shhh! Listen to crickets’

persistent

 

calls.

 

xii.

desert cacti blossoms

bringing us

 

joy.

35 thoughts on “Tilus by the Dozen–dVerse Meeting the Bar

  1. janehewey says:

    oh gorgeous, you are quite adept at this, Victoria. each lovely and as a whole piece together–beautiful.

    Like

  2. arathi says:

    Oh..beautiful Victoria…i want to see those dandelions….I missed the prompt:((…but have published it in my blog …

    Like

  3. Abhra Pal says:

    You have done it so beautifully and each on their own tells a story. Thank you.

    Like

  4. billgncs says:

    fun! I love birdsong, but they can be very early risers! Like a frog I croaked for love – but luckily I did better than another frog 🙂

    Like

  5. wonderful – each one has its individual charm – loved the dandelions and the frogs esp. Wonderful prompt! K

    Like

  6. Teresa says:

    Wonderful. This certainly does seem to be the perfect form to celebrate spring!

    Like

  7. lynndiane says:

    I truly admire your word smithing, Victoria…thanks for sharing your joy!

    Like

  8. MarinaSofia says:

    You make it look so effortless! I usually like brief poetic forms, but I really struggled with this one, kept finding myself reverting to haiku. I particularly like the image of morning stillness hovering, awaiting life.

    Like

  9. kelvin s.m. says:

    Wow, Victoria.. you made me proud with your Tiluses.. each reflects a beautiful capture of li’l moments. I’m too feel honoured especially knowing your profile as a poet & writer. Thank you so much. You nailed the form for sure, & I will bookmark this for future ref. Smiles.

    Like

  10. You can’t seem to get enough of this form it seems. Nice ones.

    Like

  11. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    What a deliciously versatile form it is! You obviously had great enjoyment making these/

    Like

  12. biggerthanalasagna says:

    The frogs and the finches are hilarious! I love the joy in life that permeates these pieces. Very pleasurable read, Victoria.

    Like

  13. kathy reed says:

    Lovely Victoria…and thank you for bringing Kelvin’s form to the forefront…have missed seeing him at the Pub. I notice that tilus can be really pretty and emotional, or not as serious…just as any for I guess, for that matter. But it has a special effect.

    Like

  14. Truedessa says:

    I agree with Claudia the dandelion one is my favorite..slather me with sunshine makes one feel warm..

    Like

  15. markwindham says:

    excellent captures of individual moments, all somehow linked…

    Like

  16. wolfsrosebud says:

    love the native of this… LOL… and those blooms of gold

    Like

  17. Mary says:

    Oh, I like the idea that dandelions are gold. It is all in the way we look at things, isn’t it? And, ah, sometimes I do wish crickets were not SO persistent.

    Like

  18. Strong words and visuals….I applaud you…

    I love this poem of yours. 🙂

    Like

  19. Bryan Ens says:

    nice set! Just wondering though…in your 4th tilus, you wrote “toking”…did you mean “taking?”

    Like

  20. Grace says:

    What a lovely set ~ I specially like dandelions gold & spring ~ Thanks for featuring Kelvin’s form Victoria ~

    Like

  21. What a wonderful collection – each stunning on their own, together – fabulous!

    Like

  22. Gabriella says:

    Beautiful series! I felt as if I was walking outside with you, Victoria.

    Like

  23. CC Champagne says:

    I love the image of smiling dandelions… A much maligned weed, with such an innate beauty that is much overlooked (even if I would, just like everyone else, weed them out of my lawn if I had one). Bravo!

    Like

  24. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Great minds, VC, for I wrote a poet’s dozen as well; loved the form, could have written many more; perhaps another time. Yours are wonderful; fine illustrations of the new form. My faves are 5 & 10, like the old dime stores of yore.

    Like

  25. Ray Sharp says:

    beautiful, each and all. I like the weight of the last word in each.

    Like

  26. So much to like here.. The finches at four AM – I can understand the joy of writing all of them

    Like

  27. These are all gorgeous. I like the noisy finches.

    Like

  28. brian miller says:

    ha. the mate one made me snort…
    glad we dont call our mates that way, you know…smiles.
    also i love the word slather….ha

    Like

  29. Susan says:

    WOW! My favorite is the little prayer to spring. Slather me! And i love trickling rivers regretting drought. The entire day comes alive in your poem.

    Like

  30. Sumana Roy says:

    a beautiful set…love the 1st and the 3rd one most….

    Like

  31. You show the way brilliantly. Mine need a bit of honing.

    Like

  32. claudia says:

    oh i love the one with the dandelions esp. – and have never seen them in real but can imagine how much beauty and joy the desert cacti blossoms bring…

    Like

  33. What a chain of little jewels you’ve strong together!

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

