Wisdom Speaks–dVerse Poetics


Silence is the language of god; all else is poor translation.” Rumi

Shhh! Listen to your heart

whispering

 

Light.

 

Photo Credit: David Slotto

Photo Credit: David Slotto

Travelers, it is late. Life’s sun is going to set. During these brief days that you have strength, be quick and spare no effort of your wings.

Rumi

Dance, my old friend, sing, fly.

Death is your

 

song.

Photo: waragainstwork.com

Photo: waragainstwork.com

 

Who could be so lucky? Who comes to a lake for water and sees the reflection of moon.

Rumi

 

Looking within I find

still waters,

 

peace.

Photo: Victoria Slotto

Photo: Victoria Slotto

 

Bear with me as I continue to play with the micro-poetry form developed by Kelvin S-M, a fellow dVerse blogger. These are written for the Poetics prompt offered by Mary. The prompt is to write a poem using a quotation as inspiration.

30 thoughts on “Wisdom Speaks–dVerse Poetics

  1. kelvin s.m. says:

    Victoria, i am late here but may i tell you ma’am how awesome you are & extremely generous t’ward this form. Your Tilus are exceptionally simple & honest. And wow! for this form to be paired with Rumi’s words?—ah, i’m greatly happy. Thank you so much! smiles.

    Like

  2. Elegant combination pictures and words – a couple holding hands

    Like

  3. lynndiane says:

    Exquisite use of the new poetic form…your final photo is so peaceful in pinks and purples with palms dark silhouettes. Simply lovely!

    Like

  4. Teresa says:

    I really like his form, and it works beautifully in combination with these quotes!

    Like

  5. arathi says:

    Beautiful combination of quotes and Tilus..I love Rumi..what a nice poem you have woven VIctoria..:)

    Like

  6. Laurie Kolp says:

    Lovely… I especially like the third one, Victoria.

    Like

  7. These are lovely. Very much enjoyed!

    Like

  8. Lasha says:

    short and sweet

    Like

  9. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    I love these lovely tiluses! How beautifully you have riffed off the quotations.

    Like

  10. Sumana Roy says:

    beautiful..love the meditative note in all of them….

    Like

  11. Glenn Buttkus says:

    So very creative, a masterful use of Tilus, one stanza for each quote; along with the bonus of an image; triple the fun, the thrill, the profundity; You get the gold star for imaginative creativity, for sure.

    Like

  12. I love how you match the non-verbal ways of beauty with the quotes of Rumi..and it reminds me i’ve gotta google this person Rumi..i see Rumi quotes everywhere..and they speak of truth to me..have a lovely Tuesday night Victoria.and an even more beautiful Wednesday morn..:)

    Like

  13. Abhra Pal says:

    Such soulful words Victoria, you fill me, complete me.

    I loved the quote you took, inspiring.

    Like

  14. wolfsrosebud says:

    someone has been busy… fun form to work with

    Like

  15. Myrna says:

    Your poems are exquisite. They complement Rumi (whom I love) perfectly.

    Like

  16. Such a dynamic poem and wow!!! I love it! 🙂

    Like

  17. Yousei Hime says:

    I think the form, prompt and execution dance quite well together. 🙂

    Like

  18. I love the visual aspect as it plays between your words, Victoria. A gentle dance well played out!

    Like

  19. Gosh, you really did enjoy Kelvin’s form last week! I think this mixture of words and picture prompts is fantastic, and your poems make the beautiful package complete. Lovely, Victoria!

    Like

  20. margaret says:

    Beautiful! First one is my favorite.

    Like

  21. ayala says:

    You made me smile…beautiful!

    Like

  22. Sherry Marr says:

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!!!!

    Like

  23. claudia says:

    they’re all beautiful – the last one touched me most though…. finding that peace within us in those quiet moments..

    Like

  24. Grace says:

    I love the tilus, pictures & Rumi quotes Victoria ~

    Like

  25. Gabriella says:

    I like how you have combined quote, tilus and photo. All of them beautiful, Victoria.

    Like

  26. brian miller says:

    death as your song….nice…like that much…its the first one though that calls to something deep within me…and understanding of that silence…

    Like

  27. Mary says:

    Victoria, these are all beautiful. The Rumi quotes, your poems, and the pictures all compliment each other.. I could not choose a favorite poem….but that photo you took is magnificent. I hope Kelvin comes to read.

    Like

  28. A lovely departure from your usual kind of post: Rumi does that to me, too – Sends me away to do something different. These are all keepers (and the illustrations)

    Like

  29. What a wonderful mix of picture words and quotes.. To see the moonshine in a lake.. I love that

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

