the correlation of weather and mood


the correlation of weather and mood

whether or not you will admit it

 

Photo: Angie Naron

Photo: Angie Naron

the storm

 

awake now

sadness plops

on my chest—

a one hundred pound weight

 

last night’s rain

battered the deck

 

left puddles

for bird baths

 

jaundiced skies–

another thunder-

storm pending

a heavenly  belch

after a flash

of heartburn

Photo: Geraldine Westrupp

Photo: Geraldine Westrupp

 

the calm

 

hostas hold water

in unfurled tongues

 

weeping poppies bow down

in adoration

 

windshields boast

dirt polka dots

 

wind tickles

the maple tree

light laughs/dances

 

oppression dissipates

in meadows of green pools

wild irises

and daffodils

 

Written for and linked to dVerse Open Link Night. The doors open on Saturday at 3:00 PM EDT. This is your once-a-month chance to write whatever you like and share it with your poet friends.

 

 

 

37 thoughts on “the correlation of weather and mood

  1. I really liked this > “jaundiced skies” and the “dirty polka dots” line. Love your imagery,

    Like

  2. We are creatures of this earth just as the birds and flowers are. How can we not be affected by what nature brings our way? Nicely done…again!

    Like

  3. […] possible to combine them, too. For example I created the poem I posted for dVerse Open Link Night on Saturday entirely from observations I had jotted down years ago (and how I wish for those storms that I […]

    Like

  4. Akila says:

    thanks for this sunshine!

    Like

  5. Steve King says:

    I’m with you on this, Victoria…the external provides such a strong input to the internal. Can’t all be sunshine.
    Steve K.

    Like

  6. MarinaSofia says:

    Absolutely true – my mood is always dependent on the weather! We’ve just had a thunderstorm here – and you describe perfectly that sense of ominous oppression and then release after the storm.

    Like

  7. chalk petals says:

    I love this post, this pairing. It illustrates more than just how the weather affects our moods; it also goes to show how differently poems affect us. Each made me feel what you felt. After reading the second, I felt light, and I was taking deeper breaths, as if I were actually outside enjoying nature. This reminds me what a great responsibility poets have to (at least sometimes) write happy words that uplift our readers. It’s much easier to write depressing expressions because it makes us feel better when we get out the bad vibes. But we also need to think about what will make our readers feel better. Thanks for the reminder, Victoria.

    Like

  8. i admit… i did giggle a few times… loved the voice here

    Like

  9. I especially like how oppression dissipates in your lines that is clear as it opens up into new perspectives on loveliness

    Like

  10. Mike says:

    Inextricably linked. A commendable piece – well done.

    Like

  11. ayala says:

    Yes, there is a correlation. Love the poem. 🙂

    Like

  12. Yes, there is indeed a link… which is why when lovely, sunny days clash with great sadness, it feels so incongruous and unfair. Well done.

    Like

  13. Truedessa says:

    I do agree there is a connection between the weather and our mood. Sometimes in life we have to face storms to know true calmness. Lovely words…

    Like

  14. Fresh images here evoking emotion and sensation. Loved both very much. Thanks Victoria!

    Like

  15. I do hate to admit it, but the weather definitely affects my mood. Give me a sunny day and I’m happy. 🙂 Beautiful poems. Peace, Linda

    Like

  16. kaykuala says:

    Oh yes! Certainly there is! Just like the moon and lunacy so also the weather and mood. A change in one will bring a different personality in the other. Make friends with the weather and one is protected! Nicely done Victoria!

    Hank

    Like

  17. Pamela says:

    This is beautiful, Victoria. Yes, the weather does hold us in its palm. We have had almost two weeks of rain and just yesterday the sun came and my heart lifted. Again today, more sunshine. I am so ecstatic, I am even cooking for the first time in a long while. Chiles relleno de queso. One of Michael’s favourite dishes.

    Pamela ox

    Like

  18. scotthastiepoet says:

    Love your inventive approach here Victoria – for me this has something of an Oriental sensibility about it.. With Best Wishes Scott http://www.scotthastie.com

    Like

  19. Imelda says:

    This is lovely and true.
    My husband says I am solar-powered, way happier when the sun is up and not too hot.

    Like

  20. Found myself just enjoying the space defined by the well-crafted word-joints you fitted together so beautifully here. I could climb into each nook and feel for my own weathered-sensation and imagine how I relate in similar climate-space.

    Like

  21. Sabra Bowers says:

    Beautiful poem, both…meaning I love the shift.

    Like

  22. Susan says:

    Lovely, lovely–fresh too! Even the hundred weight mood dances when the words and images are so refreshing. I think the calm often needs the storm to contrast with–love how the rain drops gather in the hosta and how the poppies bow down.

    Like

  23. Grace says:

    I admire the turn of the storm from jaundiced sky to calming wind & meadows of green pools ~ I believe there is a correlation as well ~

    Like

  24. markwindham says:

    a heavenly belch.. 🙂 excellent all around

    Like

  25. Ina says:

    Weather makes our mood and day, lovely worded 🙂

    Like

  26. At times in my life..weather DOMINATES my moods..and at times in my life..like now..it seems.. i generate my own weather of moods from within..and even avoid discomfort in extremes of temperatures..versatile are we human beings..with universes of differences..
    even..
    within one life
    time
    of
    UNI
    verse..
    IT seems..have a great Summer2Victoria…and smiles..:)

    Like

  27. beckykilsby says:

    A bit of a slow exhale at the end.. do like how you’ve captured this correlation (undeniable I agree).. and lovely to have a flash of humour with the heartburn 🙂

    Like

  28. A beautiful contrast – both deeply evocative. I love the puddles for bird baths and especially love the happy robin in the photo.

    Like

  29. Mohana says:

    So lovely! I perfectly agree with how our moods change hues with the weather. Jaundiced skies is great phrase.

    Like

  30. claudia says:

    i love a good storm every once and a while – and the calm afterwards… though i have to admit when there are long grey days with rain that doesn’t stop it wears me down a bit… love how the poppies bow in adoration…

    Like

  31. Love the image of the after rain, with those bending heavy flowers.. I can feel and see the rain in your words.

    Like

  32. brian miller says:

    a heavenly belch…ha….love that line…also like the dirt polka dots….it is interesting as well…how the same weather can evoke such different responses as well…rain is not always sad to me….plops down on me….great verb choice…

    Like

  33. Gabriella says:

    I too can strongly feel the correlation between weather and rain, which is not so good news today as the forecast is rain for two or three solid days. I like the image, and the photo, of the ‘weeping poppies’.

    Like

  34. ManicDdaily says:

    Very artfully done, Victoria-/great verbs. K.

    Like

  35. Mary says:

    So very true that there is a correlation between weather and mood! I love ‘a heavenly belch after a flash of heartburn.’ <—Perfect! And sadness plops down on my chest in a storm too…there is much to be said for those calm clear days! (In nature AND self.)

    Like

  36. Superb, and this completely echoes my own weathe-and-nature-inspired mood changes.

    A stray ‘s’ has landed on maple, and might be happier on the end of tree!

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

