After Closing–a Haibun


Photo: findingtheperfectworld.blogspot.com

Photo: findingtheperfectworld.blogspot.com

I sneak into the Pub after closing. The air still zings with the echoes of poets and their words. Energy pulsates. I touch words leftover, discarded in favor of others. I can’t let them lay there, rejected, so I scoop them up and slip them into my pocket, bulging now with promise.

It’s time to clean up, I know, but I’m in no hurry, so I slip into a booth in the back, light the candle and spread the words on the table, ignoring the scent of ale that still pervades the room. I realize I won’t be able to use them all tonight, but promise them I’ll keep them for another time.

Someone slips a key in the lock of the front door that I’d secured just minutes earlier, and flings it wide. Before I know it I hear a couple of voices, then three, then another until a low buzz builds into a cacophonous roar. They’re back, these poetry addicts, and it won’t be long before they notice me.

I hide the words in a couple of napkins—one with those I’m using and the others for next time.

I know they were here, a familiar voice says. Who could have taken them?

Before they notice me, I slip out the back. The rest of the work will wait.

Word addicts we are.
We cannot not consume them.
Drink of them deeply.

 

We are closing up a week of celebration for our third anniversary over at dVerse. Please join us.

Image: Michael Michalko

Image: Michael Michalko

25 thoughts on “After Closing–a Haibun

  1. I love this.
    I love the poetry in it, and the imagery.
    Reminds me of a story from the book I was just reading by Milan Kundera: “The Book of Laughter and Forgetting”.
    It’s about a young poet meeting with a group of old and durnken poets that he adores, I think you would like it.
    Best

    Like

  2. Barry Dawson says:

    As a fellow word addict, I greatly enjoyed drinking in this halibut.

    Like

  3. A beautiful haibun. I enjoy the form so much.

    Like

  4. Pat Hatt says:

    haha yep, all sure keep coming back, on the poetry attack and words they never lack.

    Like

  5. Sumana Roy says:

    love, love your haibun…the more i read the more i become the word addict…how perfect you are in your description…

    Like

  6. MarinaSofia says:

    That is so eloquent – describes us perfectly. I really, really like this one, Victoria – thank you for being such a gracious host today!

    Like

  7. claudia says:

    haha…now you were the one who’ve taken them… smiles
    words addicts we are – and we cannot not use them…i so agree
    thanks for tending bar last night victoria – you did an excellent job

    Like

  8. Poet Laundry says:

    I really enjoyed this Victoria…made me smile. Love the pocket bulging with promise from those leftovers especially.

    Like

  9. I loved this haibun, and the week of celebration. You brought another dimension to “after the ball was over”.

    Like

  10. Victoria, the word thief – there’s a poem in that! (tee hee) you’re absolutely AMAZING, my friend. Loved this – it was me who forgot the words, wasn’t it? (smiles)

    Like

  11. Yours I saw first, as I slipped into the closed pub unseen! Word addicts we are indeed! Well put my friend, well put!

    Like

  12. oh I’ve left so many words hither and yon – maybe you have seen them – smiles – this was charming, Victoria – and a wonderful intro to this evenings festivities – thank you – K

    Like

  13. Truedessa says:

    Victoria, thanks for hosting tonight I had to link up twice my mistake. We are indeed addicts searching for the right words to create our magic. Leftovers can be great one never know what will be found.

    Like

  14. Sabra Bowers says:

    Delightful haibun. One can sense the echoes of words. I’m drinking deeply.

    Like

  15. ManicDdaily says:

    Super sweet poem, Victoria–thanks! k.

    Like

  16. kaykuala says:

    We go for words like we miss them. But in many instances they turn out to be blanks and ideas never come! That is what many dread! Getting out of the pub with something going is good! Wonderful write Victoria!

    Hank

    Like

  17. DejapoeTRYview..it seems i’ve seen these words b4..but still the nuance of the thrill of the words exists and persists..in your words of flow..even in exit..as they go..have a great weekend Victoria..you galsNguys..make an ethereal way of fun for me..for days.:)!

    Like

  18. Nicely done Victoria, I hope those words you have saved appear in a poem very soon, I believe there were some wonderful ideas composed during the night. You are the guardian of the discarded, well done.

    Like

  19. ha…. of course we came back! I love me some leftovers, so excuse me if i grab extra… lol Great hosting, Victoria!

    Like

  20. Jeff says:

    Beautiful–we are addicted to words, to the feel of them, the sight of them, the way they conjure images to the mind and reveal something worthwhile. Excellent!

    Like

  21. Susan says:

    Excellent! That’s how it is–the pile of words, sounds, napkins, gosh. It could be me in the candlelight alone.

    Like

  22. rmp says:

    I imagine the words are quite grateful to you for saving them from the dustpan. I too enjoy collecting words, clips, & phrases…you never know when they will breathe life into a new creation.

    Like

  23. brian miller says:

    ha. word addicts for sure…lol…and a feaming addict to steal the left overs…..lol…but hey someone has to take care of them….lol…i often come away from our events with a few in my pocket i have found on the trail….

    Like

  24. Grace says:

    Word addicts for sure ~ My feet though are still sore from too much dancing in the ball ~ Love your haibun ~

    Thanks for being a lovely host today Victoria ~

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

