bare back–dVerse Open Link Night


Photo: ridingbareback.com (Pinterest)

Photo: ridingbareback.com (Pinterest)

bare back

in my dream I ride bare back on a white stallion
in frothy surf as it kisses sand, teases seahorses

there is freedom in the scent of salty air and sacred power
in aloneness of sandstone cliffs—protection from intrusion

the solstice sun leaps off the edge of ocean’s rim
leaving behind gold-washed clouds and gilded whitecaps

undulating muscles of the steed, undulating roll of waves,
the crash of breakers on the shore enclose blissful somnolence

too bad it’s but a dream too bad aloneness gives way
to loneliness and darkness overtakes the earth

too bad the horse is but a chimera
that gallops into the void

Photo: jumpingpercheron.com

Photo: jumpingpercheron.com

 

Linked to dVerse Open Link Night where you can write about anything you like. The Pub opens at 3:00 PM EDT and I will be your hostess, serving up poetry and mojitos to combat the heat.

45 thoughts on “bare back–dVerse Open Link Night

  1. Andrew says:

    I am sorry, Victoria, but my vocabulary is to poor. I do not understand, simply, there are to many strange words. 🙂

    Like

  2. yelena says:

    bittersweet and beautiful..loved this verse, Victoria~

    Like

  3. brian miller says:

    ah but for a moment it is a beautiful dream…it is a delicate balance between solitude and aloneness…one fulfilling, the other sucking us dry….

    Like

  4. Beth Winter says:

    Keep teasing seahorses! This is beautiful.

    Like

  5. Ed P says:

    what wonderful imagery. you bring to life what often happens when dreams crash against the reality of this cruel world that doesn’t have to be cruel at all.

    Like

  6. Barry D. says:

    “the solstice sun leaps off the edge of ocean’s rim
    leaving behind gold-washed clouds and gilded whitecaps”

    Beautiful and vivid, but then the sun changes directions and descends into the melancholy of loneliness. This poem is deeply felt. .

    Like

  7. Bryan Ens says:

    Ah, such a lovely image…and then your last lines bring such sorrow. Very touching and powerful poem.

    Like

  8. Truedessa says:

    an enchanted dream…one whee one likes to linger..

    Like

  9. Oh, those last lines.

    Great work here.

    Like

  10. Oh, but this is beautiful. You took me there then I felt your disappointment when it was a dream – LOVE your closing lines!

    Like

  11. Oh the ending! too sad after such a vivid and beautiful dream – loved the lines ‘the solstice sun leaps off the edge of ocean’s rim
    leaving behind gold-washed clouds and gilded whitecaps’ K

    Like

  12. Such an exquisite dream.

    Like

  13. MarinaSofia says:

    A lovely dream indeed – although I probably wouldn’t be able to do it nowadays. I only did a bit of riding when I was 15/16 and haven’t done any since… but it does sound like bliss!

    Like

  14. Madhura says:

    Undulating roll of waves.. beautiful! Horses are my love… I’ll always dream of owning horses and that perfect stud farm! I love the images you create.. With you, I found myself disappointed that it was just a dream…

    Like

  15. Ash says:

    The opening lines fills one with freshness of a vivid dream. Despite chimera revolving all around filling us with negativity, our dreams often gives us hope.

    Like

  16. Bodhirose says:

    I envy people who can ride horses with such wild abandon. Such beautiful image-words you use in your write…truly sublime. The feeling of disappointment upon finding it was but a dream was so clear…I’ve had those disappointments.

    Like

  17. Mohana says:

    such wonderful imagery!
    someday i would like to ride a horse. 🙂

    Like

  18. Rallentanda says:

    You know what they say about women dreaming about riding horses…Tsk Victoria!

    Like

  19. Polly says:

    Gorgeous poem and images.

    Like

  20. alan1704 says:

    There is always a white stallion for all of us to ride free on. I love the way you capture hope and dreams.

    Like

  21. shadowleavesonlakeann says:

    Victoria, I could just imagine ride this steed! Loved this line …
    …”here is freedom in the scent of salty air and sacred power
    in aloneness of sandstone cliffs”! This captures why I love the ocean!

    Like

  22. bostonpoetry says:

    This is beautiful. I wish I had dreams like this; I never have ‘normal’ dreams, haha. I like the whole beach scene; solstice sun is a nice touch. This is my favorite couplet:

    undulating muscles of the steed, undulating roll of waves,
    the crash of breakers on the shore enclose blissful somnolence

    Comparing the undulating horse to the waves is great. And I love the word somnolence. Great stuff Victoria. =)

    -Mike

    Like

  23. Sancho Panza says:

    I’m allowed a small donkey, nothing more. But that’s good too.

    Like

  24. Such beautiful imagery in this, I can hear the waves and feel the horse galloping along the surf. But also such a deeply emotional sadness evoked. A lovely piece, Victoria.

    Like

  25. C.C. says:

    This is exquisite…..absolutely divine for the senses. I especially love, “in frothy surf as it kisses sand, teases seahorses”—the imagery is rich, tangible yet dreamlike.

    Like

  26. Well, if you must dream you could do a lot worse than that! Lovely imagery.

    Like

  27. scotthastiepoet says:

    “too bad” indeed Victoria – we’ve all had this marvellous dream at one time in out life, I’m sure and I really appreciated the reminder, you brought so vividly to life – thank you…

    Like

  28. Brendan says:

    Very powerful stuff, Victoria. In the first two stanzas each image somehow ramped up the magnitude of the last. I took my 87-year-old mother to the beach today — her birthday present — and when I dropped her back off at her house she was rapt in the memory, sorry that she wasn’t still there, then decided that now that it was in her heart she could never lose it. That’s the amen I add to this poem.

    Like

  29. ManicDdaily says:

    Oh dear! I rarely have such vivid dreams–this one sounds very adventurous and you describe with a great sense of the here and now, and then that sense of loss as the dream evaporates. Thank you, Victoria. k.

    Like

  30. humbird says:

    Ah, the poem is so musical, and the dream – so beautiful, and the white color in the dream – nice sign of new…

    Like

  31. Charlotte says:

    So dreamy. I’d love to be there!

    Like

  32. Gabriella says:

    Your dream reminds me of my childhood ones when I hoped to be a great cavalier. It never happened but I can still relate to the sense of freedom I yearned for then.

    Like

  33. annell4 says:

    Love this piece! Love your description of the surf…and sea and sky….Thanks.

    Like

  34. Suzy says:

    A very beautiful dream non the less. And very beautifully described too.

    Like

  35. I wish everyone a white stallion instead of a chimera. Dreams can be a bliss sometimes.

    Like

  36. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Very Gothic, with killer closing lines; loved it, imagined it in slow motion. Bareback riding is much more comfortable for women than men, I assure you.

    Like

  37. Ah, so beautiful and pure – even in the sad ending. You’ve truly tapped into a shared ancient memory of a white horse and that sense of freedom felt on beautifully weathered beach fronts.

    Like

  38. Mary says:

    I like the progression of this, Victoria. It would be wonderful to be able to ride bare back. How difficult to have an experience like this and then wake up and find it was only a dream! Thanks for hosting today, Victoria.

    Like

  39. Grace says:

    Too bad its all a dream, a chimera ~ I specially love this part:

    the solstice sun leaps off the edge of ocean’s rim
    leaving behind gold-washed clouds and gilded whitecaps

    Like

  40. wolfsrosebud says:

    do like the pureness and power in this write… your page had trouble loading over at dVerse

    Like

  41. Sometimes waking up is so very hard to do. Ha. Loved the poem. I did love riding horses. I think it’s what keeps the Queen fit. Sigh – well it’s very fine to dream.

    Like

  42. First Victoria..just a note..for some reason your link didn’t work in the magic linky thingy..not sure..may..be.. an issue on my end though..2..

    But anyway..these words of freedom of wild on the beach..are ones i enjoy much..

    and i can definitely relate this in the dream of life that is reality now..for me…

    As i remember being 16..walking many Summers on my local beach..vividly seeing my tan feet..mix so comfortably in sugar white sand…

    At that point the only thing i knew about growing older in male style.. was my father..living a life on a lazy boy..watching TV..on our Bi-annual weekend visits there in Tallahassee…

    I was terrified at that point..that my life at 44..would be imprisoned in a Lazy boy chair 2…

    But now i know..it is not a sentence…at least not for me at 54….

    It is a choice…

    And yes..

    potential escape..!Come true in dreamed REALITY!
    SMILES..and have a great dVERSE adventure..today!

    Like

  43. claudia says:

    oh such a sad closure… i already started dreaming…sigh… i once rode on a horse along the atlantic coast… beach…sun…it was great – just it didn’t look very elegant… smiles

    Like

  44. rmp says:

    too bad in deed…I can feel the freedom of the salty wind blowing through your hair as the smell of lapping waves spurns you further along the coastline upon the majestic beast. you really painted a lovely picture. so much so I can almost picture myself galloping along this dream.

    Like

  45. In my younger days riding along the shore, splashing in and out of the waves, was my idea of bliss.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

