Dog Daze of Summer


For Open Link Night at dVerse on Saturday, my post was titled “The Dog Days of Summer.”  Today, because I’m feeling lazy, here’s a photo variation on the theme:   The dogs We’ve loved:

Photo: David Slotto

Photo: David Slotto

Ascot, our first (and the only dog we got from a breeder, rather than a rescue, a Jack Russell Terrier (1993-2009) This photo was taken when he was quite old. David’s canine soul-mate.

Photo: David Slotto

Photo: David Slotto

Blondie, a Golden Retriever Mix rescued from the Humane Society in 1993 at about age 1 1/2. We got her because she was calm and thought she would be am asset in influencing our wild little JRT–wrong. She had heartworms; we had her treated and they became an inseparable wild, though well-trained pair.. We lost her in 2004. She was my soul mate in the dog kingdom.

Photo: David Slotto

Photo: David Slotto

Dolli, an American Eskimo, rescued from a local rescue in 2004, found wandering the streets of Reno, scavenging.  The rescue said she was between 3-5 years old, but we only had her 5 years and the vet said she was likely about 15 when she died. She was a sweet friend to us and Ascot, and died only a couple of months after him. You may recognize the breed with its long hair–she felt the heat.

Photo: David Slotto

Photo: David Slotto

Zoe–a Jack Russell/Doxie Mix (a guess). We rescued Zoe through Petfinder.com from a Northern California rescue. She is almost completely deaf and has had spinal cord degenerative problems such as are common with Dachshunds. Early this year she required surgery for a disc that had intruded on her cervical spine.

 

Photo: David Slotto

Photo: David Slotto

 

Sparky–Zoe’s hearing-ear dog, rescued only a week after Zoe. He is a Papillion mix. I was down in the desert when I had to have Dolli put down, so we found him, also on Petfinder.com  and picked him up in SoCal on the way home. They are inseparable.

Underlying this post is my goal of promoting animal rescue. And, if you are able, consider adopting a special needs dog or cat. It is so rewarding.

In the near future, I will be announcing a new effort. I am an avid (addicted?) jewelry-maker, in the process of setting up an ESTY shop under the name VictoriaCreates. There I will be offering my jewelry for sale at very affordable prices. I will keep only the cost of supplies and donate the balance to the SPCA of Northern Nevada, a no-kill shelter.

Have a wonderful week and, those of you who do have pets, give them an extra treat, walk or cuddle for me.

 

Photo: David Slotto

Photo: David Slotto

 

12 thoughts on “Dog Daze of Summer

  1. ManicDdaily says:

    Great pics, and a lovely effort. You are multi-talented! But always generous and kind. k.

    Like

  2. Talented, generous, and kind–I’m proud to have you as a blogger buddy! I’ll try to find you on Etsy!

    Like

  3. Bodhirose says:

    So fun to meet all your dog friends, Victoria…thanks for sharing the love! Look forward to checking out your Etsy shop. I have two nieces that make and sell jewelry on there too.

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    Beautiful dogs – all of them! Often I wonder if I would have the tendency to be a ‘crazy old lady with dogs.’ I have three now, one (my youngest) from a rescue. I wouldn’t give them up for the world. You had an American Eskimo at one point. My first dog as an adult was an American Eskimo-‘black menace’ mix. Very nice dog!!

    Like

  5. brian miller says:

    what a cool enterprise….and a worthy cause…one of my best friends…i would argue my first best friend was a hound dog…his name was hobo….

    Like

  6. You know how much I adore this post, and all of your beautiful dogs. I resonate with you having had a soul mate in the dog kingdom. I had one too – once in a lifetime, I suspect, as many other dogs as I have loved and love today, there is always one extra special connection. Next time I would like to get a black American Eskimo because it would look like Pup, but be small enough for me to manage. I am a big dog person but my strength isnt up to managing a big dog any more, I am sad to say. I am right there with you about rescuing – there are so many unwanted and mistreated dogs that need rescuing and love and a second chance at life. Bless you for caring for so many.

    Like

  7. scillagrace says:

    Good luck with your jewelry line! My daughter also designs jewelry and sells at boutiques/spas. Let me know how you like selling via Etsy.

    Like

  8. rmp says:

    It is obvious you care(d) very much for each of your little ones. All of the pictures are absolutely adorable. I can see why you adore them so much. I imagine they have brought countless moments of joy to your lives.

    Like

  9. What a beautiful post, Victoria, and as a dog lover/owner, this was especially heartwarming. We’ve also adopted our dogs, so we’re all for giving other dogs good homes rather than the alternative. Our black lab mix, Lucky Girl, lived with us for 10 years; she was a sweetheart and currently, we have Copper, a light chocolate lab. We adopted him 2 years ago when he was approx. a year and a half. In Sept. he’ll be around 4.
    He’s very lovable, but we’ve had some separation anxiety to deal with when he’s alone and he’s been a bit destructive. He’s more mellow now, but not 100% out of mischief so our patio furniture, etc. is barricaded in the back yard. It’s a bummer because we like to have it set up and would love to get a do-boy pool, but he loves plastic.
    What’s funny is he’s really good for most of the time then all of a sudden, he has a relapse. So we can’t take the chance. But he’s worth it, just a big baby. So Cheers to Dog Daze of Summer! Have a wonderful Monday. 🙂

    Like

  10. Pat Hatt says:

    Pups are as wonderful as can be, the cat may not fully agree haha but he does like chewing on their tail.

    Like

  11. What a beautiful post! All your dogs were lovely and from the looks of it much loved. Thank you for promoting such a worthwhile cause. If only more people would adopt rather than buy from breeders or worse still pet shops.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

