Slow Dance–dVerse Poetics


Image: Dancing Tree by Taye-Drya DeviantArt

Image: Dancing Tree by Taye-Drya
DeviantArt

Slow Dance

 

Last night I slow-danced with an ash tree—

the roughness of his arms stroking my bare skin

and leafy kisses covering my breasts.

 

With branches strong he bore me high above the stars

where rainbows melted into gold.

 

I fell asleep, but wakened to the sound of angel lyres,

drank, without fear, the nectar of the gods

till satisfied they rained me back to earth.

 

I stretched on dewy grass, delighted in earth’s loamy scent,

then spent my days in dreams of a last dance.

 

Anthony Desmond is inviting to take a psychedelic trip today. I’ll leave it to you figure out how to do that–I needed to use my imagination…not going there at my age. :0)  Join us for this fun prompt Tuesday 12:00 EDT over at dVerse.

Photo: Victoria Slotto

Photo: Victoria Slotto

 

30 thoughts on “Slow Dance–dVerse Poetics

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    Lovely … and a graceful opening.

    Like

  2. ManicDdaily says:

    Ah lovely–an especially beautiful opening. Thanks. k.

    Like

  3. claudia says:

    now i’m having to search for an ash tree…ha.. what a wondrous journey… loved every line of it victoria

    Like

  4. arathi says:

    oh that’s a lovely dance Victoria..loved it:)

    Like

  5. Ohh! I love dancing. Your poem makes me want to dance with that ash tree. Fall in love with its touch, while the music lasts…

    Like

  6. lynndiane says:

    A sweetly slow dance…naturally makes a beautiful dreamy poem!

    Like

  7. Bodhirose says:

    Wow…I loved this and that picture is perfect…magical!

    Like

  8. Mohana says:

    this is wow! golden rainbows, leafy kisses…you have created a dreamworld 🙂

    Like

  9. billgncs says:

    lyrical and melodic, very nice

    Like

  10. Beautiful…love your dream state

    Like

  11. Truedessa says:

    I wouldn’t mind dancing with a tree..trees are amazing and so is your poem.

    Like

  12. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Gentle & sweet, no bad trip moments where the ash turns into a bramble bush & slashes your legs, when the branches wrap too
    tightly around your waist, making it hard to breath, just as you realize what’s wrapped around you is an anaconda; you struggle, but on all sides of your packs of rats and gators snap at your dress; to awaken
    wrapped deathly tight in your blankets as the ghostly hiss of a street cleaner filters through your open window.

    Like

  13. they rained me back to earth – what a lovely line! Beautiful and lyrical dream, Victoria – K

    Like

  14. Mary says:

    There definitely would be worse things to dance with than an ash tree. My kind of psychedelic. Smiles!!

    Like

  15. Grace says:

    I love the dreamland Victoria ~ I specially like this line:

    I fell asleep, but wakened to the sound of angel lyres,
    drank, without fear, the nectar of the gods

    Like

  16. i think this is a trip I would enjoy too Victoria. So nicely done.

    Like

  17. Last night I slow-danced with an ash tree—

    the roughness of his arms stroking my bare skin

    and leafy kisses covering my breasts.

    oh! my…you’re metaphors are excellent and amazing!

    where does all this inspiration come from?

    I love it!

    Like

  18. arushiahuja says:

    i loved your metaphor with the rain!! how joyous to be the pitter patter and smell like fresh earth and dance among the trees!! beautiful…

    Like

  19. Susan says:

    Wonderfully magic dance!

    Like

  20. wolfsrosebud says:

    a bit different for you… i loved the whimsy in this

    Like

  21. A beautiful metaphor for the connection with nature..and i have to admit..today i did martial arts..with an azalea bush..and to my credit i only brushed the bush with bare foot sacred love!

    To love nature is sacred love

    to play with nature..in the dance of life..

    is
    definitely

    DIVINE!
    AND SAME AS
    PLAYING WITH GOD2ME!2!
    SIMPLY
    IN SACRED LOVE WITH WHAT IS!
    IS! TRUE.!.AS IS!…:)!

    Like

  22. ooh… I’m definitely loving this… dancing with trees? I feel like I’ve done that before; circling around them as a kid, counting to ten and playing hide and seek… smiles… very dreamy. Can’t wait to see all the different directions people go in later today… Thanks, Victoria!

    Like

  23. Dancing with trees – what a perfect dream… Really loved it like I was a bumblebee 😉

    Like

  24. brian miller says:

    heh. smiles…a tree would make for a cool dance partner…and that intimacy with nature…sounds like a peaceful place of waking as well…

    Like

  25. rmp says:

    what a magical slow-dance…the last lines have me pondering whether you were lying there in the dewy grass the entire time, staring up at the tree and the heavens and simply imaging yourself (or dreaming yourself) dancing the night away in the trees arms. a lovely and whimsical write.

    Like

    • rmp says:

      I just took a second look at the first image; the first look would have been enough had I read the caption….but anyway…..it really does look like dancer arms in the air head tilted back standing on one leg….really neat.

      Like

  26. Wow, loved everything about this.

    Like

  27. Wow! I couldn’t have written that if my life depended on it. Bravo for a brave response to a difficult prompt.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

