the saxophone and itzhak perlman–dVerse Poetics II


Artist: Cindy McTee

Artist: Cindy McTee

the saxophone and itzhak perlman

counterpoint!

 

that blues brother’s guy plays an alto sax while
itzhak slides his bow across medusa’s snakes
playing “(black) swan lake.

 

pas de deux

 

hansel, wearing tights too tight
(he really shouldn’t)
dances the nutcracker—sweet
gingerbread, tries to lure that
dragon-lady, ice-queen, witch away
from the oven before gretel becomes toast!

2/2/cut time

poe’s raven caws “nevermore, nevermore”
to the half-time beat of the metronome
while that crazy old dude in the third
row back, center seat can’t stop clapping.

game point

then my wife, the old bat, comes in
waving last night’s empty bottle of vodka
screeching
“i told you so, bacchus, you ass.”

checkpoint!

Photo: Jim Varney

Photo: Jim Varney

My second response to the dVerse Poetics prompt for story-telling. There are a few of the cues in this one: a dragon, a bat, a greek god, a black swan, a nutcracker, a man who can’t stop clapping, a bluesmen playing a saxophone, Hansel and Gretel, the Icequeen, an old liquor bottle, a raven and a metronome.

I hope you will visit us at dVerse Poetics and also check out my other poem, posted earlier.

24 thoughts on “the saxophone and itzhak perlman–dVerse Poetics II

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    Fun! Engaging. 🙂

    Like

  2. Sabra Bowers says:

    Clever, fun, and different for you. Tights too tight…and you may have changed how I hear “nevermore, nevermore” in my head.

    Like

  3. kaykuala says:

    You managed to rope in almost all if not all of the examples suggested. Hansel and Gretel somewhat different from what they were and a host of others. That’s just great Victoria!

    Hank

    Like

  4. ManicDdaily says:

    I especially like the guy in the third row clapping. Ha! k.

    Like

  5. Rallentanda says:

    This was fun. I needed a smile. Thanks.

    Like

  6. Whimsical. Quite a leap from what you normally write. I hope it was as much fun to write as it was to read! 🙂

    Like

  7. Susan says:

    Cool. very imaginative, an entire ballet that would please Picasso.

    Like

  8. The wife of bacchus as Jim Varney..dressed in drag..creates a certain harmony of the absurdity of life..lived truly in laugh as free..:)is not irony..;)so smiles and have a great rest of the day2..YNOT is always what i say..even in the darkest of hours of now..in now….light is always visible as true to me…NOw…

    Like

  9. Mike says:

    Highly entertaining! Great work.

    Like

  10. You do surreal very well, Victoria. I read your two poems before seeing the dVerse prompt, and was totally bemused! Now I undersstand.

    Like

  11. Sumana Roy says:

    lol..Poe’s crow, Hansel & the wife do create a fun world….

    Like

  12. rmp says:

    this was a fun read. I particularly like the hansel scene…and I think if you look carefully, you’ll see me sitting next to the old dude laughing endless in time with his claps.

    Like

  13. Jeff says:

    I hope you had as much fun writing this as I had reading it. Excellent work!

    Like

  14. Sara v says:

    What a range you have! This had me laughing!! I’m impressed 🙂

    Like

  15. the too tight tights had me laughing out loud – this was quite the romp – fun story, Victoria!

    Like

  16. You have the most beautiful images and vision that I love to read.

    Fantastic! 🙂

    Like

  17. I can tell you had a lot of fun… the cawing of poe’s raven; playing of medusa’s snakes… That’ll be the only way I’ll get close to those beasts… (i say beasts because I’m scared of ravens, too) smiles

    Like

  18. I can’t tell you how much I loved this. I have the biggest smile right now. This is fantastic.

    Like

  19. My heart bleeds for Hans’ nuts actually… so much fun in this.. I think I might be that guy applauding.

    Like

  20. claudia says:

    haha…so good victoria… i can tell you had fun and i love that you even wove the man who can’t stop clapping in…and so elegantly

    Like

  21. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Medusa was a stripper in my Hareworld; Medusa & her sexy snakes were headliners at the Bijou Burlesque house in Portland, Maine; nice you jumped into the mirth pool with some of us; the laughter is fine.

    Like

  22. lynndiane says:

    This little number was quite entertaining, Victoria!

    Like

  23. Mary says:

    The images in this poem made me smile. Hansel with his too-tight tights, gretel becoming toast, the wife waving the bottle of vodka. Quite a contrast from your first poem for sure!

    Like

  24. brian miller says:

    in too tight tights, you may be a nutcracker….just saying…ha…

    playing medusa’s snakes…i bet that makes interesting music…

    ha this whole thing was a trip…

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

