Silhouette–Weekly Photo Challenge


The Daily Post asks us to photograph objects in silhouette:

Photography is all about experimenting with light, and then positioning yourself (or your subject) in the right spot to achieve a certain effect. One such effect is a silhouette, in which an outline of someone or something appears dark against a lighter background. Silhouettes can be very dramatic and resemble black shapes without any details, but the effect varies from picture to picture.

Photo: Victoria Slotto

Photo: Victoria Slotto

This is an ash tree in our backyard.

 

Photo: Victoria Slotto

Photo: Victoria Slotto

And I can’t resist this one, taken in Palm Desert, last winter.

Photo: David Slotto

Photo: David Slotto

Another from Palm Desert. The credit for this one belongs to my husband, April 2013.

14 thoughts on “Silhouette–Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    Very nice. What kind of camera?

    Like

  2. […] Silhouette – Weekly Photo Challenge (liv2write2day.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    • It’s a Lumix FZ35. Pretty basic. David got it for me for Christmas a couple of years ago then kind of took it over. :0) I’m just starting to play with it. Have yet to really read the manual and understand all the features. My artist’s eye has a sense for composition but I need to figure out the settings etc. Of course, my biggest enemy is TIME.

      Like

  3. […] Silhouette – Weekly Photo Challenge […]

    Like

  4. brian miller says:

    i love the palms we used to have them when we lived in florida…and their wild hair-dos def make for a wild silhouette…smiles….

    Like

  5. scillagrace says:

    I love the middle shot…and thank you for reminding me that I missed the Challenge this week! I was out hiking that day and forgot completely.

    Like

  6. The palm photos.. especially the last one tell me some story.. really the contrast with solemn colors to those “happy” palmtrees is very interesting

    Like

  7. rmp says:

    wow…lovely. I like these new photo challenge posts…. I can see what the Palm Desert pieces continue to speak to you.

    Like

  8. These are very dramatic! I love how light alters our sense of things

    Like

  9. joyackley says:

    I love the first photo. The sunlight filtering through the trees is lovely, and it makes the green so bright and vivid..

    Like

  10. Amy says:

    Beautiful silhouette images!

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

