Photography 101–the First Post: Playing Catch-Up


I suppose I could do an entire post just listing the reasons I have been unable to write for however many days, but let’s just leave it at this: there are times when life gets in the way and the needs of those we love take precedence to everything else. Today, the 5th, and the previous three days, I’ve been without Internet access, so I’m preparing this post in a document for tomorrow.

Recently, I’ve cultivated an interest in photography. I began to participate in the WordPress Weekly Photography Challenge, so when they offered a chance to learn more about this art form throughout the month of November, offering daily prompts along with photography tips, I decided to take advantage. Therefore, I hope to offer a daily photo in response to this opportunity.

For those who don’t know me, I’ve been blogging with WordPress at this site since 2009—primarily poetry, writing tips and prompts and prose. I’m a published author of fiction, poetry and non-fiction. Last month, I began a second blog, Be Still and Know That I Am focusing on spirituality with a Christian twist.

Today (actually tomorrow when I will be back in the zone) I will post the first two photos:

Home:

Photo: V. Slotto

Photo: V. Slotto

Home is within us. It is where we find God, where we find those we love. This is the view from my part-time home in the desert of SoCal.

Streets:

Photo: V. Slotto

Photo: V. Slotto

This photo explains one aspect of my Internet absence. We were without power, therefore, Wi-Fi, for 16 hours as the power company worked to upgrade our service. It was a scheduled interruption.

Tomorrow I’ll be back with Water and Bliss…perhaps more. And hopefully, my poet friends, with some poetry. Thanks for your visit.

6 thoughts on “Photography 101–the First Post: Playing Catch-Up

  1. rmp says:

    life is as good a reason as any…especially when those you care about are in need of you.

    the photos are lovely. quite a picturesque place to live.

    Like

  2. Sometimes when I way too busy, I take on something different just to forget how busy I am. Usually it doesn’t work… 😦 Interesting photos, though. 🙂

    Like

  3. There is a stillness an blessing in that view.. here it’s a little less sun 😦

    Like

  4. brian miller says:

    nice..is that the view off your porch? i like the little pond and fountain…and i agree with your definition of home…smiles.

    Like

  5. scillagrace says:

    So fun to join in with you on another Photography club! Keep snapping happily!

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

