Anasazi Kiva


Photo: mountainphotography.com

Photo: mountainphotography.com

Anasazi Kiva
Black-Out or Erasure Poetry

Kiva,
sunk into deep ground—
the womb of Mother Earth—

Emergence—
spiritual rebirth,
focal point of prayer.

An unlikely place
for spiritual
activity.

Anasazi—a Navajo tribe of Native Americans located in the Four Corners where the states of Arizona, New Mexico, Utah and Colorado meet in the southwestern United States.

Kiva—underground chambers that became the center of spiritual and community life.

Source: Places of Tranquility by James Pipkin.

Linked to Bjorn’s prompt at dVerse Poets Meeting the Bar. This is from a stunning coffee table book so, for obvious reason, I didn’t do the black out visual and the book is too large to copy on my printer.

Please join us at the Pub for some amazing poetry. This is a good form to get back in the groove if your muse was idle during the holidays–as mine was.

24 thoughts on “Anasazi Kiva

  1. Ayala says:

    Lovely, Victoria. Wishing you all the best in 2015.

    Like

  2. Miss Stacy says:

    sounds like a holy, mystical place. very enjoyable blackout poem.

    Like

  3. Anna says:

    The ancient Puebloans have always fascinated me. Thank you for bringing this erasure poem to life, I could feel and smell the kiva. The spiritual rebirth is especially potent. It brought back memories from all my visits to Mesa Verde! No need to return the visit – mine’s a repost from 2012 you’ve read.

    Like

  4. margo roby says:

    I really like the first two stanzas. They work well together. I’m not sure the poem even needs the final stanza, but it’s an interesting commentary.

    Like

  5. tigerbrite says:

    I am fascinated by native American spirituality and would love to visit here. The underground chambers remind me of the labyrinth of corridors and temples in Egypt said to stretch right under the Sphinx. It might be the very same roots of both with the people’s exodus of Atlantis before the flood.
    You may remember this
    http://planetcyberluz.com/2013/05/03/valley-of-the-shadow-of-death

    Like

  6. Other Mary says:

    I don’t know what’s missing from the page, but the words you kept seem just right. )

    Like

  7. Misky says:

    Splendid. I really love this.

    Like

  8. lynn__ says:

    Yes, i’d like to re-visit Mesa Verde or another cliff dwelling some day and climb down into a kiva for the view of meditative space you describe.

    Like

  9. Beautiful – a fundamental piece of life.

    Like

  10. Prajakta says:

    Unqiue piece Victoria. Brings some lovely colors to this place – I have never heard of it though. Seems mystical.

    Like

  11. Truedessa says:

    Into the belly of the earth communing. Sounds interesting I may have to search for some information on this place.

    Like

  12. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Sets me thinking!

    Like

  13. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Mesa Verde, Canyon of the Ancients, Nevada, Colorado, New Mexico; all kinds of sites to visit; always fascinates me, cliff dwellings, early engineering; nice take on the prompt; glad you didn’t mark up your coffee table book.

    Like

  14. wolfsrosebud says:

    lovely piece Victoria… make into writing… you must be settled in… I’ll get back to you in a few days regarding your request

    Like

  15. Grace says:

    I have not seen a Kiva yet so this is very interesting to me Victoria ~ I like the nod to spiritual awakening ~

    Like

  16. brian miller says:

    nice…i like the image of the going down into the earth and being born again into life…..i would love to spend time among some of the tribes….

    Like

  17. How cool, Victoria. I’d love to see that. Well done.

    Like

  18. claudia says:

    oh wow… that sounds intriguing victoria… would love to visit them in their underground chambers…

    Like

  19. Gabriella says:

    Very evocative lines, Victoria. The reflective tone is in keeping with your topic.

    Like

  20. Mary says:

    Nice to find that spiritual rebirth can happen in even the most unexpected places!

    Like

  21. Never been there, but would love to go. It sounds spiritual in the most fundamental of way. I’m wondering why in your poem you say it is an unlikely place to find spirituality…

    Like

    • Oh, I sure didn’t mean spirituality. I think I was more focused on the activity. In addition to spirituality, there was a lot of community events–at least as I understood it. I’ve never been there either but read fiction centered there from time to time. To me, it sounds a bit like a hermitage.

      Like

  22. Love this.. I recall the Kiva’s I saw when visiting Mesa Verde.. I think maybe it was a cool place when the sun was blazing.. and there is some magic in that darkness with shadows on the wall…

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

