February Desert


 

Photo: kesq.com

Photo: kesq.com

Even in the desert, February
winds harass the trees,
whipping fronds from their palms.

Hummingbirds seek shelter
in clumps of orange Lantana,
appear surprised by winter’s onslaught.

Mother joined us for a Valentine’s
Day visit. Alone for too many years,
she still cannot befriend the loneliness.

That night the desperate clamor of frogs
promised us an early spring
Wind howled its objection.

This poem is from 2010–this past February was not like this until yesterday when significant winds did batter us–and today, March 1st, we have a much-needed steady rain.

Today (March 1) and tomorrow, my most recent novel, “The Sin of His Father,” is available (for free) on Amazon.com as a Kindle giveaway. If you do upload and read it, I would be so grateful for a review on Amazon.com or Goodreads. Thank you.

18 thoughts on “February Desert

  1. Grace says:

    I admire the personification of that last stanza ~ But this line struck me:
    she still cannot befriend the loneliness.

    Hope you are well Victoria ~ Hope your book promo is coming along nicely 🙂

    Like

  2. A certain peace fell over me while reading this – probably not what you expected…. The desert, hummingbirds, the palms swaying bending in their certain curvature…. Mother’s delicate – frail – yet well known heart. It’s hard for me to describe but I will say that your poem somehow made me feel at home after having been gone away in worries and fear. Comfort, at last. Familiarity. Beautiful.

    Like

  3. kanzensakura says:

    I love that last verse…frogs clamoring…it does seem all of sudden, they do start up! And the hummer finding shelter – so many details in this poem makes this a most enjoyable read.

    Like

  4. You may be getting more rain than we are in Washington! Lovely poem. I will definitely get your book and do a review. Let me know if you want me to do anything else to help you market it!

    Like

  5. Lovely poem – I could feel the wind! (Mind you, it’s very windy here, too).
    I can’t use Amazon.com – my Kindle will only let me use Amazon.fr, which is infuriating, as I can’t always find what I want.

    Like

  6. Sadly, don’t own a Kindle….. Anyway, congratulations!

    Like

  7. Iremise says:

    Indeed the weather’s a constantly changing phenomenon these days.
    I did enjoy reading and re-reading several lines…good poem

    Like

  8. Hoping that Spring brings some comfort to us all. Lovely poem. 🙂

    Like

  9. kelvin s.m. says:

    Rain in desert, that is pretty unusual but the seasons today are becoming unconditional. Here in Philippines, we experience storms during summer.. likewise, some days during rainy seasons are really really hot. Smiles. Keep safe!

    Like

  10. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Lovely to read of a type of place I’ll never know in person.

    Like

  11. Alone for too many years,
    she still cannot befriend the loneliness…. that speaks so loudly in this poem. Wonderful.

    Like

  12. I loved this especially about your mother’s visit and the phrase ‘still cannot befriend the loneliness’. Very poignant.

    Like

  13. Truedessa says:

    frogs promising spring and winds howling an objection..I hope the frog wins and spring arrives as the winds subside.

    Like

  14. biggerthanalasagna says:

    There is something about the frogs that makes me so happy. I love the life in that image. But I also really just like frogs.

    Like

  15. I remember when I lived in Phoenix how those days of rain in the desert felt like.. I think it was even a little cold..:-) Happy for those frogs.

    Like

  16. brian miller says:

    good for you on the rain…it is raining here…with a bit of ice in it…
    the hummingbird one is cute…i bet it was quite a surprise for them
    look forward to seeing them again this summer…they like to play on the back deck

    Like

  17. claudia says:

    that made me think of the one hummingbird i saw in my life so far… in california… smiles
    in munich we had a freezing cold wind… and friday night it even started snowing… yearning for spring.. and hope your mom is well..

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

