the atmosphere on the street tonight


Photo: Victoria Slotto

Photo: Victoria Slotto

the atmosphere on the street tonight

the heart makes the simplest things
so damn complicated.
you teased me from my lethargy,
drew me into shade-like shadows
of a recessed doorway on a street—
dark, deserted in new moon night

drumming rain on pavement
patters frantic rhythms, hypnotic.
i yield then beneath a lone streetlight
(to love) that floods me in the darkness.

but that was then.
and now you fill the room with emptiness.
i taste the void and wonder why
my heart still hopes
because i know that things so simple
can become so complicated.

I gleaned the title from the Moody Blues:
“The Other Side of Life”

Written and Linked to dVerse Poetics where Anthony tosses us some lines to play with and make our own. Stop on over, pick up the prompt and see where it takes you. This is based on something from my long ago past (thank God).

And let’s wish much luck to Anthony, who is stepping away from the Pub to pursue his career with his new publisher. Bravo.

19 thoughts on “the atmosphere on the street tonight

  1. Iremise says:

    Beautifully crafted. Your works are always beautiful

    Like

  2. Anna says:

    It seems that Anthony’s lines inspired atmospheric poems in many this week. This is drawn with such skill and care. And with a surprisingly tragic turn, excellent work! The collaboration was seamless and magnificent.

    Like

  3. phenomenal! You turned the lines into something brand new.. I especially loved, “shade-like shadow” that minor change gave this new meaning and you used them so well! love it

    Like

  4. I had a Rockwell painting in my head as I read your beautiful lines.

    Like

  5. kanzensakura says:

    Wonderful write. Taste the void, the sensuality then the emptiness. I too like the rhythm on the pavement. The rain is just a vivid image for me and hearing the sound of it, You took the lines and made them your very own with this. And the title…..when I got through reading this poem, I had to go on YouTube to pull up the Moody Blues and listen to several.

    Like

  6. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Kind of cool that you did not use a different font for the prompt sentences. It kind of makes the read more seamless. I, too, like the line
    /taste the void & wonder why/ a state many of us encounter often.

    Like

  7. i taste the void and wonder why
    my heart still hopes…… love can be so complicated. Beautifully written.

    Like

  8. A lovely poem …..even if it has a sad touch….

    Like

  9. Misky says:

    You’ve tied those lines in so seamlessly. Well done, Victoria.

    Like

  10. Bravo, Victoria. Magnificent poem with the given lines.

    Like

  11. Well.. Victoria..
    both you and
    i sing the
    Moody Blues
    on blog posts
    of different
    avenues
    today..
    but still
    the moody
    blues are a great
    poetic prompt
    any time of
    now for
    me as
    well..:)

    Like

  12. This is like something out of a film, the rain and passionate meeting, and then that void that came. I love how you weaved the sentences into something entirely new..

    Like

  13. Truedessa says:

    I felt the joy of passion stirring in the rain and then felt the sadness of the void as time passed too quickly it seems.

    Like

  14. lynn__ says:

    Love your streetlight image…and the heart still hopes.

    Like

  15. Mary says:

    I always love to see what you do with a prompt…and you really gave life to the idea of simple things having a way of becoming so damn complicated. I love the title of your poem as well. Perfection!

    Like

  16. Grace says:

    How sad to read that the room is now filled with emptiness from the hypnotic pattern of drumming rain ~ Very well done Victoria ~

    Like

  17. Love the Moody Blues…and that line about filling the room with emptiness…

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Shawna says:

    This is AWESOME. Love it, V.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. X says:

    Oh dang, it got all hot there for a moment,
    only to leave me so cold. This one really dances V. I like the patterned rhythm of the rain on the pavement. Taste the void – i like your choice of sense in that. You wove several of the lines in here really nicely.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

