early monday morning


Photo: Peter Barr Labeled for Non-Commercial Reuse

Photo: Peter Barr
Labeled for Non-Commercial Reuse

early monday morning

at first light, i fall into demi-
wakefulness, cover naked flesh
with wings of want.
inside, within a holy place
a sacred secret swirls
and i am one with universal
longing, hidden ‘neath the guise
of ordinary days.

at this hour, just yesterday,
i walked beside the river—
its early morning mist shone
red, as rising sun pierced a waiting world.

my mind flies west
where ocean tides stalk
the shore, tugging gently
at desire, fingering consciousness.

i toss aside tomorrow’s dreams
and worries, teeter on the edge
of an abyss of my own making—
soar on high, pass mountain ranges,
tame raging winds
to settle gently on the plains
of today and seek to clarify
the meaning of my living,
then start a load of laundry.

I wrote this poem in response to Brenda’s Wordle at the Sunday Whirl, using words from the last two weeks’ prompts…Thanksgiving kept me busy; I loved the words, so I combined them. I will also link them to dVerse Poetics on Tuesday…details to come. I would love to see you visit and contribute to both prompts.

26 thoughts on “early monday morning

  1. Wonderful writing. I could so relate to this. 🙂

    Like

  2. Misky says:

    This is completely captivating. I was carried along from start to finish.

    Like

  3. 5h2o says:

    That first stanza is so powerful.

    Like

  4. I can’t can’t shake the image of waking up, covered up with “wings of want.” You are amazing! 🙂

    Like

  5. What a beautiful photo that is. I love watching steam rise from frozen rivers! A wonderful poem – I especially love “cover naked flesh with wings of want.” Wow!

    Like

  6. You joined two prompts seamlessly. Beautiful

    Like

  7. thotpurge says:

    The last line is just fantastic…!!

    Like

  8. Bodhirose says:

    This immediately reminded me of a book that I read many years ago by Jack Kornfield called “After the Ecstasy, the Laundry: How the Heart Grows Wise on the Spiritual Path.” You can’t separate the spiritual from the mundane and you describe it beautifully in your wonderful poem!

    Like

  9. lynn__ says:

    I enjoyed the beautiful wanderings of your mind…amazing phrasing…and the ever present laundry calling you back 🙂

    Like

  10. markwindham says:

    It is often that divide between universal longing and a load of laundry that drives our days….

    Like

  11. Mary says:

    I like the way you show the workings of the mind here, Victoria — how it can fly west toward the ocean and then focus in on the necessity of doing a load of laundry.

    Like

  12. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    “As rising sun pierced a waiting world…” love your choice of words here in this exquisite poem! Beautifully penned 🙂

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Like

  13. helenmidgley says:

    Beautiful, I particularly loved “i toss aside tomorrow’s dreams
    and worries, teeter on the edge of an abyss of my own making” 🙂

    Like

  14. Kate Mia says:

    SMiles.. a world of pressinG
    buttons.. moving machines
    and mechanical
    minds
    certainly
    takes aWay
    a UniVersal
    flow
    of sImply
    living now..:)

    Like

  15. MarinaSofia says:

    From the sublime mountain peaks to the laundry… ah, how true of our lives! I like the contrasts in this poem. And those wings of want intrigue me…

    Like

  16. kanzensakura says:

    Like the newness of this – the mystical aha moments all through. And such beautiful phrases….starting with the fourth line of the first stanza…that in itself is one gorgeous piece of writing, a beautiful wisdom. I think this is one of your best.

    Like

  17. Grace says:

    I love the reflections in between the semi-waking up and doing the laundry ~ This part really resonated with me:

    inside, within a holy place
    a sacred secret swirls
    and i am one with universal
    longing, hidden ‘neath the guise
    of ordinary days.

    You have a strong imagination and tireless energy Victoria ~ Thanks for showing us how its done, smiles ~

    Like

  18. Glenn Buttkus says:

    OK, Victoria, you did it, convinced me to join in the Wordle; & I had a lot of fun with it. Oh to be a poet in the morning, when words sprout fresh & wet like wild toadstools. I love the way you wove the 12 words into this piece, & I adore the sterling lines /my mind flies north/where ocean tides stalk/the shore, tugging gently/at desire, fingering consciousness/.

    Like

  19. Oh so delightful!! Wrapped up in this glorious feeling and then the mundane calls us back to earth!

    Like

  20. Oh.. those moments just before the chores.. how great it is to linger there a little… and just maybe the laundry will be done a little bit smoother…:-)

    Like

  21. Jae Rose says:

    That last line is a gem..amidst figuring out the cosmos and the very meaning life we must indeed do our laundry – wonderful!

    Like

  22. gailatthefarm says:

    …abyss of my own making…so many have that.

    You did a great job combining the two sets of words into a beautiful piece.

    Thanks for visiting.

    Like

  23. oldegg says:

    How great it is to enjoy the beauty of the world whilst still tackling the week’s laundry. A great read.

    Like

  24. C.C. says:

    This line is divine: “cover naked flesh
    with wings of want”

    Like

  25. A wonderful interpretation of the wordle words. It is difficult to live in the day without spoiling it with past regrets or future worries. You are positively enjoying the moment here.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

