Emily’s Song


tea

Emily’s Song

a Haibun

It’s 2 AM and the sound of tea pouring into my ceramic mug hurls me back thirty-some years. The old lady stands on tiptoe, touches her weathered lips to my then-youthful cheek. I catch the scent of Yardley’s lavender and, in the background, a hint of cinnamon. As I enter her 1930’s home, the far wall of her living room catches my attention. Shelves, painted yellow, are lined with books and photos.

She goes to brew our pot of tea while I scan the titles and pictures. My eye catches sight of a young couple, standing arm-in-arm, circa the early 40’s. He’s wearing the uniform of an Army Air Corps pilot. In the background a child is tossing rice at them. A second photo shows them driving off in an old convertible bearing a “Just Married” sign on the trunk, and another, a very pregnant Emily holding a balsawood model of a WWII bomber.

“Those are my stories,” she says, entering the room. I won’t bore you with them. And she didn’t, as over the years we spend time sharing her life and a cup of tea—the stories of a World War II bride. And widow.

the room enfolds me
warmed by tea, infused with light
she shares her stories

Written and shared with Sanaa Rizvi and folks at Prompt Nights.

16 thoughts on “Emily’s Song

  1. If this is any indication then your book is going to be terrific. You make this scene so real and feel like my own memory.

    Like

  2. ghostmmnc says:

    Wonderful memories… and yes, many have stories to tell, if we just take time to listen. 🙂

    Like

  3. Rommy says:

    Nostalgia often has a scent to it. I like your use of it here.

    Like

  4. Beautiful, and I bet she had some amazing stories!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rall says:

    I’m not sure why but this mad me feel sad….probably because we live in a time when we don’t make much time for people of this era and their stories. Reminded me of my great Aunt.Lovely imagery reflecting a lovely unassuming person.

    Like

  6. This is wonderful Victoria.. what a story, sometimes we do not need more than those glimpses to understand it all… both the tea and the scents just took me there… (and I can swear I heard the sound of an old clock ticking as well)…

    Like

  7. Beautiful story – I too caught the scent of lavender and the glow of the sunny yellow shelves. Wonderful, Victoria. Hope you are feeling better. K

    Like

  8. Jae Rose says:

    And yet every smell, sight and feeling says it all – skilfully crafted!

    Like

  9. I can see her face, a tale traced in each lovely wrinkle… I can smell the tea… and know that I, too, would love to hear her stories over a nice brew. Such peacefulness…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. gillena says:

    this is an expert haibun. the story is absorbing and the haiku adds that bit of aha at the end

    Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving your link, i would not have liked to know i miss such a treat

    much love…

    Like

  11. this definitely brings about a sense of nostalgia for a person in the old lady’s situation. lovely.

    Like

  12. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Oh, this is beautiful Victoria 😀 such a lovely haibun. Especially love the images of “Yardley’s lavender and a hint of cinnamon in the background.” Beautifully penned. Thank you so much for participating 🙂

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

