Chinese New Year


Chinese New Year

Brocaded Buddhas
catch a ride
on the hostess’ bodice.
You shave splinters from your chopsticks and
watch the waiter caress pancakes
with plum sauce.
Your fortune reads,
“Someone will make you happy tonight.”
I concur.

Image: Real Madrid Labeled for Noncommercial Reuse

Image: Real Madrid
Labeled for Non-commercial Reuse

Wishing you a Happy New Year of the Monkey

In honor of the Chinese New Year we are writing poetry to this theme…perhaps you will find inspiration in a fortune cookie.

Please join us at dVerse Poetics where Toni is our hostess. The poetry pub opens at 3 PM EST.

27 thoughts on “Chinese New Year

  1. Your meal is enticing, and your fortune wonderful.

    Like

  2. Kate Mia says:

    ForTunes oLd.. Fortunes
    TOld.. believing new..
    placebo works..
    Voodoo new
    yes.. nocebo
    real.. too..
    old
    or new..:)

    Like

  3. So much said and so succinctly…well done…I enjoy the tone. 🙂

    Like

  4. Waltermarks says:

    Very interesting; why do they shave the chopsticks?

    Like

  5. Sumana Roy says:

    sooo love this poem specially the first few lines…

    Like

  6. Now I am hungry! Love this enjoyable writing!

    Like

  7. lillian says:

    “…watch the waiter caress pancakes with plum sauce…..”
    DEEElicious! 🙂 Smiling I am….

    Like

  8. I haven’t eaten Chinese food for the longest time and don’t remember the last fortune cookie. I like the brocaded Buddhas …

    Like

  9. One can be mesmerized by the wisdom of these quotes. Obviously these quotes had gone through generations of usage that they are just faultless.

    Hank

    Like

  10. Bryan Ens says:

    Short…but yet bursting at the seams with rich and beautiful descriptions. Love it!

    Like

  11. MarinaSofia says:

    Plum sauce, pancakes and chopsticks certainly make me happy, even if you have to shave off the splinters… a charming and compact poem.

    Like

  12. thotpurge says:

    Oh great scene there..vivid image!

    Like

  13. Bodhirose says:

    Love that fortune, Victoria…a nice ending to your poem.

    Like

  14. whimsygizmo says:

    “you shave splinters from your chopsticks” is a metaphor for life, if ever I heard one. Fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Grace says:

    Love the surprising ending ~ I would really love to that fortune cookie Victoria ~

    Like

  16. Shawna says:

    I’m especially enamored of the first three lines.

    Like

  17. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    This is beautifully written 🙂 especially love “the waiter caress pancakes with plum sauce.”

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Like

  18. kanzensakura says:

    Not quite the quote in the prompt but hey, shoes, someone….hope everyone has something that makes them happy today and everyday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m learning that I need to slow down and read prompts more carefully…and then I perpetrated the crime as Glenn used my quote. Sorry, Toni. Maybe I’ll have time to write to the prompt.

      Like

      • kanzensakura says:

        Thank you. I just put so much into my posts, as do we all. The shoes was such a touch of whimsy that it made me grin hugely when I opened the cookie. We just have had problems in the past with prompts not being followed. Right now I am just a roiling sea of frustration with puter problems, heat not working…27F today.

        Like

  19. with those pancakes and the sauce I feel a Peking duck… Just the taste makes me smile with joy… I should celebrate, and what a coincidence that it’s also fat Tuesday today.

    Like

  20. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Chinese dining is one of the staples in my life. At my favorite restaurant, they know I have 7 grandchildren, so they gave me a bag of broken fortune cookies for them. The tykes enjoyed the Chinese cookies for weeks.

    Like

  21. Mary says:

    There is nothing like celebrating Chinese New Year in such a beautiful setting. The fortune makes a wonderful climax to the evening!

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

