Your Shoes Will Make You Happy Today


Photo: lonestar92.com

Photo: lonestar92.com

Your Shoes Will Make You Happy, Today
                               Chinese Fortune Cookie

The stench lingers but still I dive in—that’s what starvation will do to human dignity. Outside Chinese restaurants, dumpster pickings abound. I remember the days when I. too, could eat inside. When I, too, could leave unstinting tips.

I can’t go back, can I? So here I am. Instead of climbing to the top of the corporate ladder, I grasp an opened doggie bag in my raggedy-gloved fingers and scale to the top of the heap, hefting myself over the side. I open the bag. There amidst crushed containers of Kung Pao Chicken and Fried Rice I find it—a fortune cookie, crushed inside its cellophane wrapper. I read the fortune and look down.

fortune cookie lies
breed sense of hopeless wishing
perhaps tomorrow

Linking to dVerse Poetics prompt on Chinese Fortune Cookies…this time using the correct prompt.

13 thoughts on “Your Shoes Will Make You Happy Today

  1. Sumana Roy says:

    this is very poignant…

    Like

  2. Kate Mia says:

    A beast
    pArt of bEing
    homeLess iS
    beinG hungry
    and walKing..
    amazing now
    how so many
    people are never
    reAlly hungry or
    walk
    like
    that
    to find
    A meal as liFe..

    First world
    problems
    stufF’ed..:)

    Like

  3. I think walking in other’s shoes is what we need more of in this word… and who does it better than the compassionate poet…? Maybe the fortunecookie is mockery sometimes…

    Like

  4. Fortune smiling a very small wan smile at the one with the hard luck. At least there was a little something in the bin.

    Like

  5. Mary says:

    This is so very poignant, Victoria! Sometimes the fortunes just don’t ring true!

    Like

  6. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    This is such a profound write 🙂

    Like

  7. Whimsy G has said what I was going to say. How unequal are the ways of fortune.

    Like

  8. thotpurge says:

    “Perhaps tomorrow”…. sigh!

    Like

  9. Bodhirose says:

    Kind of cruel that fortune cookie…

    Like

  10. Candy says:

    wht a strong story in this haibun. I’ve often felt that those fortune cookies are little liars.

    Like

  11. Grace says:

    Maybe it will be better tomorrow ~ I admire the contrast of despair with the wistful hoping of that fortune cookie ~ Who knows, maybe the luck will turn to one’s way ~

    Like

  12. whimsygizmo says:

    Victoria, this is a stunning take on the fortune, a small and important walk in another’s shoes. Wonderful.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

