Loneliness–dVerse Poetics


Keith Brofsky

Photo: Keith Brofsky Labeled for noncommercial reuse.

Loneliness

Gnarly hands finger the fringes of her shawl,
finger the knots as she once she used to tell her beads,
touch the softness as they once caressed
her babies’ skin, their father’s just-shaved face.

She stops to swipe a tear that caravans
down the furrows of her weathered cheek,
betrays the smile she gives to me while sharing
stories of the life that makes her who she is today.

And when I stop to take her hand in mine
her strong grip closes tightly round my own
as though to circle hope and hold it near,
as though to stave off my departure.

Today, guest poet Mish, invites us to consider hands in writing and submitting our poems to dVerse Poetics. Please join us to read and submit a poem of your own.

16 thoughts on “Loneliness–dVerse Poetics

  1. Kate Mia says:

    SMiLes..
    alWays
    hope iN
    hands grasping
    Hold FeeLinG..:)

    Like

  2. 5h2o says:

    Just lovely, and heartbreaking. 😦

    Like

  3. ghostmmnc says:

    Wonderful poem, Victoria. Strong hands, that have been through so much in their years, yet still conveying love through touch.

    Like

  4. Susan says:

    My grandmother’s grip was surprisingly strong, exactly as you say. And I love the entire first stanza with its contrasts of Gnarly and soft. Gosh.

    Like

  5. Mary says:

    Oh, wow, Victoria. Beautifully expressed. So very true how they grasp our hands and try to make sure we stay as long as possible. So hard to leave, knowing we may not see them again…..

    Like

  6. Oh my, Victoria. This is heartfelt and beautiful. The photo is well expressed in your words. A great connection.

    Like

  7. Poem and picture both beautiful and sad.

    Like

  8. “as though to circle hope and hold it near,
    as though to stave off my departure.”
    So sad….and I have also felt this in the hands of my grandmother in her last years. Hands do speak do us. One of my favourite poems from the prompt. 🙂

    Like

  9. Bodhirose says:

    I liked that her hands still had strength in them. I felt a lump in my throat that she gripped you as if to stave off your departure. So many of the elderly are lonesome and need someone to listen to them.

    Like

  10. Grace says:

    What a story you made out of those hands ~ The ending lines touched me, as if wanting you to stay and linger longer ~

    Good one Victoria ~ I hope you are well ~

    Like

  11. kim881 says:

    So familiar and so poignant.

    Like

  12. I love that you didn’t just describe her hands, but rather what they were doing and, perhaps more importantly, why. Very nice.

    Like

  13. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Sigh… this is absolutely beautiful. Your poem reminded me of my grandmother’s hands. Powerfully expressed 🙂

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Like

  14. this is beautiful – makes me think of my mother…

    Like

  15. What a wonderful take of those hands… still strong … and as usual your verbs are wonderful … the tear that caravans… wow….

    Like

  16. lupitatucker says:

    So beautiful, Victoria! Your poem reminds me of my Abuelita’s hands.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

