The Color Purple


1024x768-purple-heart-solid-color-background

 

Photo: Victoria Slotto

Photo: Victoria Slotto

The Color Purple

I think, in my whole life
I have never missed the full moon

nor failed to hold my breath
at a glimpse of deep purple.

I savor kisses
of waves lapping at my ankles
the grit of sand between my toes

and sunshine,
always sunshine

reminding me of the warmth
of your touch.

“I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don’t notice it.”
Alice Walker, The Color Purple

Yesterday, I stumbled  upon a wonderful photography prompt, Color Your World, hosted by Jennifer Nichole Wells. (Thank you to fellow dVerse participant, Majka for introducing me to that site). My goal is to use Jennifer’s prompts to spur me to daily poetry in preparation for NaPoWriMo.

As today is also Open Link Night at dVerse, I am also linking this there, hoping that you will also join us at the Poets’ Pub. If I am late in reading and commenting, that is because tomorrow I will be having cataract surgery.

The first couplet of this poem is taken from Mary Oliver’s poem “When,” published in her most recent collection, “Felicity.”

 

38 thoughts on “The Color Purple

  1. Sean Michael says:

    My favorite line: “savor kisses of waves lapping at my ankles.” Enjoyable read.

    Like

  2. lillian says:

    Wonderful poem. Wonderful photo. Thanks for the citation on the site — will check it out. Yes, I’m looking forward to NaPoWriMo. I was, using your color theme, green behind the ears when I did it last year. Hopefully there will be some improvement showing in my work this year! 🙂 But mainly, I do it for the challenge and the fun.
    By now you’ve probably had the surgery — best wishes for a speedy and uneventful recovery. Boring health is always best 🙂 Sending positive thoughts your way!

    Like

  3. Bryan Ens says:

    Naoto poem, and beautiful photograph. Hope your cataract surgery went well!

    Like

  4. Candy says:

    the whole piece is super but those first two stanzas really spoke to my heart

    Like

  5. reminding me of the warmth
    of your touch.

    The bonds of love run deep. It can manifest itself in many different instances. Wishing you the best for your surgery Victoria!

    Hank

    Like

  6. When I was a kid, purple was my favorite color (I even painted my bedroom purple — not sure how I got away with that), but my sister hated purple, I think because it was my favorite. Sunshine is another of my favorite things. You have beautifully captured both here. Peace, Linda

    Like

  7. ZQ says:

    Beautiful! …

    Like

  8. The color purple is a unique offering. Not many flowers choose to be so colored.It is lovely! Wishing you well in your surgery Victoria!

    Hank

    Like

  9. A great reveal of a bit of Victoria! With two sisters and raising to girls, I am not averse to the color purple! 😉

    Like

  10. Harish G. says:

    Colors do have in them to make for a better time. Lovely composition.

    Like

  11. kim881 says:

    A colourful and sensual poem, Victoria. I do hope your surgery goes well. Best wishes x

    Like

  12. Good luck with your surgery xx

    Like

  13. Simply breathtaking ❤️

    Like

  14. MarinaSofia says:

    Now that is some purple on that photograph! I have to admit, it’s one of the colours I like least, but it does look beautiful there. I like the simple pleasures you enumerate and how they build up in a crescendo.

    Like

  15. lynn__ says:

    A brilliant color poem and photo…love purple! Praying your surgery and recovery go well 🙂

    Like

  16. This is beautiful, Victoria. The images are bathed in the light of your love. Very fine poetry.

    Like

  17. Truedessa says:

    That is an amazing photo – the purple is the darkest hue and your words made me want to see the full moon. I have always been fascinated with the moon for as long as I can remember.

    Like

  18. markwindham says:

    Many are the common things we take for granted, but should not be missed.

    Like

  19. Majka says:

    I am sending my prayers to you, Victoria! 🙏

    Like

  20. This was just lovely Victoria and there is something so energizing about purple. And I agree with Alice Walker.

    Like

  21. thotpurge says:

    Yellow flowers do it for me..love the change of beat at the end..warmth of your touch.

    Like

  22. scotthastiepoet says:

    Yes, savour those kisses, Victoria – uplifting..

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Dear Victoria, I hope all goes well with the cataract surgery and that you will soon be back reading and writing with us. This is a wonderful colour poem and so good to be reminded of Alice Walker’s quote. There is a poem by Jenny Joseph which starts off’ When I am old I shall wear purple’ Its a defiant look at the wonders of growing old disgracefully!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes–I have that poem in a book and for my 60th I wore purple!

      Liked by 1 person

      • What a good idea! And bash railings? Thanks for your comment on frosty days and about having dogs. I was about to reply on my computer and it deleted it. It was late at night but comments seem easier on the iPad! I really miss not having a dog at the moment so enjoy my friends dog coming to stay. I think I am going to abandon my idea for a big dog and try and get a rescued Tibetan terrier! Happy walks with yours!

        Like

  24. ghostmmnc says:

    Beautiful flowers! This photo fits wonderfully with the color of the day, Purple Heart! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Grace says:

    Such gorgeous flowers and verses Victoria ~ I love how you used Mary’s poem as a starting point for your own reflections ~

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Misky says:

    What an extraordinary colour!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. ShirleyB says:

    Oh, my, I could stare at that flower all day.
    Lovely poem and succinct reminder the best things in life are free.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Paul says:

    Such gorgeous colors – smiles – I particularly like the stress on the sunshine…created a very powerful effect….

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Glenn Buttkus says:

    So sweet & concise, putting me in mind of lavender planted fields, & the perfume made of them. Most all of us have to face cataract surgery later in life; mine was at 62 ears old.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    I savor kisses
    of waves lapping at my ankles
    the grit of sand between my toes

    Sigh.. this is so beautifully expressed!

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

  31. To be addicted to a color like that, to hold your breath at the glimpse of purple… it’s a rare and deep color.. love how you built your poem.

    Liked by 2 people

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

