La Jeunesse–dVerse Poetics


Photo: that's part of the mystery.

Photo: that’s part of the mystery.

La Jeunesse

Youth – love and laughter
Prime – adventure, love and laughter
Senescence – rest, reflection, love and laughter
My Mystery Poet
(all of the above)

She laughs in the face of aging,
learns, loves, listens,
dances with words,
caresses fabrics, colors, textures,
brings nature into our lives
as she walks the beauty of her chosen land.

Is there a form she hasn’t tried?
A phrase she hasn’t savored?
A friend she hasn’t reached out to?

If I could fly, I’d cross the pond
to share a cup of tea,
to drink deeply
de la joie de VIVre.

I wasn’t going to join in this prompt offered by Abhra at dVerse Poetics, but I succumbed. This is supposed to be about a poet we admire and keep a mystery. Did I cross the line? Hard not to.

20 thoughts on “La Jeunesse–dVerse Poetics

  1. mtw says:

    your characterization is so well done – i’m sure if i was more familiar with the other poets at dverse i would have a much stronger suspicion of who this is about. but either way, i love the way you interweave personality and action and identity as a poet into this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. annell4 says:

    I enjoyed this so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary says:

    Ha, I love all the clues you gave, Victoria! No doubt who the fine and versatile poet is.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am waiting to fly across the pond. Soon I hope. Share a cup?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This was a lovely piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sue says:

    ‘She laughs in the face of aging’ – woman after my own heart!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Glenn Buttkus says:

    A terrific tribute, & fun foray into the realm of the prompt. I had a good time with this one, as you have surmised. I’m still a bit miffed though, since I have not found a single tribute to we of the masculine gender; smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Abhra says:

    “She laughs in the face of aging” that is so powerful – a heart warming piece Victoria – thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Patti says:

    I really enjoyed this.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This is wonderful Victoria,… I could see her immediately in your words… wonderful

    Liked by 1 person

  11. whimsygizmo says:

    Yessssssssssssss. Love this. Love her. You have served her up perfectly.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    This is such a heartfelt tribute! ❤

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

