Star Jasmine–Prompt Nights


Nothing is more memorable than Scent-thus we are prompted by Sanaa at Prompt Nights. I’ve been remiss in participating in this lovely poet’s weekly events but this week, I would like to share an older poem, from 2012:

Photo: Tsukuba, Ibaraki, Japan, May 2006 NikonD70s MicroNikkor 60mm Labeled for noncommercial reuse.

Photo:
Tsukuba, Ibaraki, Japan, May 2006
NikonD70s MicroNikkor 60mm
Labeled for noncommercial reuse.

Star Jasmine

They say that fragrance and memory
stroll hand-in-hand
into the past.

I rediscover innocence
on a California evening
in the desert.

This delicate flower has an unforgettable, heady fragrance. We have two plants in the desert, where they thrive. We tried desperately to grow them here but they are not enamored of freezing temperatures. They bring to mind vivid memories of growing up in Southern California.

Thank you, Sanaa, for the lovely prompts.

14 thoughts on “Star Jasmine–Prompt Nights

  1. georginamorley says:

    Bluebells have the same effect on me 😀 XXX

    Like

  2. Khaya Ronkainen says:

    Wow, Star Jasmine; accomplished! Such an exquisite poem with jasmine and rediscovering innocence. 🙂

    Like

  3. Love everything about this poem bit, Victoria. The relationship between the stanzas, the way the second one grows from the first, and the images it paints in my mind. Yum! ♥

    Like

  4. Jae Rose says:

    This drifts back wonderfully..the closest here is jasmine tea – even that smells refreshing and full of sun and promise

    Like

  5. Fragrance and memory are strongly interwoven. Lovely poem and picture.

    Like

  6. I love the thought of such smells of night.. jasmine can of course not grow in Sweden, but the mock orange also gives that rich smell..

    Like

  7. Sue says:

    Beautifully, evocatively penned, Victoria…given me an idea for a poem (not for this prompt) that might kickstart me to write again…..

    Like

  8. Sumana Roy says:

    scents do take us far away in time and place…so beautifully penned…

    Like

  9. ghostmmnc says:

    I love the poem, and it is so true how a scent can take you right back to a time and place in your memory!

    Like

  10. scillagrace says:

    Star jasmine is THE fragrance of my love life. It bloomed beneath my parents’ redwood deck when we moved to CA, and that’s where I realized I was in love with my late husband when I was 15. Thank you for the memory!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Michael says:

    Beautiful Victoria, I agree there are scents from my past I still recall with great affection.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Victoria what a delicious poem about a delicious scent….we encountered it in Italy for the first time, and I am addicted to it!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Gosh 😀 that picture of the jasmine is breathtakingly beautiful Victoria ❤ ❤ and what a stunning poem as an accompaniment.
    Beautifully rendered. Thank you so much for participating at Prompt Nights 🙂 and for your constant love & support ❤ ❤

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

