Enclosure–dVerse Poetics


P1030773

Enclosure
a Sonnet for Linda

I stand in darkness looking out the door.
Dim lights reflect in puddles on the street.
The night is young, but fear comes to the fore-
front of my soul as I admit defeat.

Imprisoned in my heart, I flee what waits
beyond the boundaries of this world I know—
imagining those things my mind creates—
(the pain) rejected oft’ so long ago.

To taste despair, so hopeless to move on,
I turn away, drink silently of fate
and pray for morn to bring a gentle dawn—
my garden, flowers, trees inside my gate.

Perhaps someone will come when I am dead,
scatter my ashes in that world I fled.

With Lillian as hostess for dVerse Poetics, we are writing about doors. I searched my photo archives and this photo of our front door made me think of someone I loved much who suffered from agoraphobia for years. When she died, the family released white doves. I trust she is free at last.

The doors to the pub open at 3:00 PM EST. I hope this prompt will open those creative doors for you.

28 thoughts on “Enclosure–dVerse Poetics

  1. 5h2o says:

    Victoria, so very beautiful … the last stanza was both unexpected and summative. Lovely.

    Like

  2. lynn__ says:

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful sonnet…and the personal notes. I also have a dear friend who suffers fear and anxiety, my heart hurts for her.

    Like

  3. Kate Mia says:

    FAcing tHe tesT
    iN Door oF DeatH
    Been tHeRE dONE
    iT aLivE
    noW
    AfteR
    FAcE
    aLiGht SHinE..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. vronlacroix says:

    Imprisoning ourselves with our own fear is a poignant theme to express.

    Like

  5. The poem is beautiful, and the explanatory note at the end just adds that little bit extra. Releasing doves for someone crippled by agoraphobia – what a moving tribute.

    Like

  6. PSC says:

    A beautiful piece and lovely tribute. Language so full of hopelessness, defeat & despair. So sad that the only hope lies in the freedom that waits beyond death. Photo is the perfect accompaniment to this piece.

    Like

  7. Wow. The idea of releasing white doves at the funeral of someone who suffered from agoraphobia is simply inspired. Gave me goosebumps! Yes, I do believe she was set free and whatever kept her a prisoner no longer tethers her soul.

    Those last two lines are magic, V. Also inspired…

    Like

  8. Misky says:

    I’m glad you included the explanatory note at the end, as it lends extra power to your lovely poem.

    Like

  9. kim881 says:

    Oh, agoraphobia is imprisoning. My grandfather only left the house to go to work at the end of the road. The first line gave me a pang and the final couplet is so poignant.

    Like

  10. jaybluepoems says:

    Love the imagery. The stark hopelessness, embraced in fate, yet hopeful for dawn. Very beautiful.

    Like

  11. jillys2016 says:

    ‘enclosure’ ‘imprisoned’ ‘boundries’ – wonderful use of words to set the tone, and a sonnet, no less! Well done.

    Like

  12. Nan Mykel says:

    You were very present in your poem. As though you were taking me there.

    Like

  13. I felt this piece in my gut. Well done.

    Like

  14. ihatepoetry says:

    Wonderful, and palpably sad write. I felt the heaviness.

    Like

  15. I do love your footnotes… the white doves. What a lovely poem for your friend.

    Like

  16. Grace says:

    A beautiful and moving sonnet Victoria~ I specially love this part:

    and pray for morn to bring a gentle dawn—
    my garden, flowers, trees inside my gate.

    Like

  17. whimsygizmo says:

    What a beautiful sonnet, Victoria. I have a friend who suffers in a similar way. Through her, I am reminded that sometimes small, everyday acts are BRAVE.

    Like

  18. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    A lovely sonnet and powerful tribute Victoria. May she rest in peace. Amen ❤

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Like

  19. What a sad way to gain freedom.. it’s like two doors in one.

    Like

  20. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Incredibly effective, V; I, too, thought of death’s door, & wrote about it. I wonder how many more will gravitate in that dark direction? Your piece has a loveliness mine lacks. Your image of freedom at last midst a flurry of white doves is very touching.

    Like

  21. kanzensakura says:

    Freedom for your friend. Very powerful but to me, no sorrowful except in missing your friend. I had a friend who died of COPD. Ironically, when she drew her last breath, I thought to myself, now you can breath freely. And that door to death is just how it is – us here, the loved one there on the other side. Excellent write for your friend.

    Like

  22. therisa says:

    As someone, who suffers, from prolong bouts, of agoraphobia, I relate to your sonnet, Victoria. During my bouts, I need to be physically moved out of my apartment, to be part of the outside world. The apartment door, is more than a door, it’s a jail cell door, and I, it’s prisoner.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a heart-breaking disorder, Therisa. Linda was my cousin–we grew up together. She had her reasons for not wanting to recover. She did allow me to visit (rarely) but needed to keep most people at a distance. She was agoraphobic most of her adult life. She had her own mission on this earth–a great lover of art and beauty of all sorts.

      Like

  23. Wow, this is strong. Like, hit in the solar plexus truth. Loved it.

    Like

  24. What a beautiful idea, to release the doves – freedom at last for your friend. A lovely sonnet.

    Like

  25. lillian says:

    This is such a powerful and sensitive write. I cannot imagine living within continually. White doves – the release of fear and fluttering of peace as it soars.

    Like

  26. Sue says:

    Powerful, sorrowful write, Victoria

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

