the two faces of change


Photo: nwf.org

Photo: nwf.org

the two faces of change
an etheree

in the tree outside my window, blue jays
lug twigs up to a high leafy branch,
build a nest for their little ones,
feather-lined avian hope
that autumn flashes, blue
would surprise with orange-
bright canopies.
so much change,
some de-
light.

once,
alone,
i hoped for
(promised myself)
that dreams would always
stay on course, would be sure.
i built my castle in sand
forgot that wind could destroy it.
alone once more, i waited for fate.
colors flashed in the trees, but i saw naught.

I’m tending the poetry pub today at dVerse, challenging you with the Etheree Form. I do hope you will stop by, learn more about this fun shape form, give it a try and share with us! The prompt opens at 3:00 PM Eastern Standard Time. 

39 thoughts on “the two faces of change

  1. Sabiscuit says:

    It is a beautiful form. I find myself going back to the top of each pyramid to start again. 💙

    Like

  2. 5h2o says:

    You draw a strong tension here between one kind of home and another. The last line is stunning.

    Like

  3. Barry D. says:

    Poignant contrast of building for the future vs the wistful melancholy of loss. Moving work.

    Like

  4. Lovely, the mirroring of the shape of the two verses reflects the contrast between you alone and the birds. Thank you for tending bar!

    Like

  5. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    Interesting contrasts beautifully described.

    Like

  6. Mish says:

    The contrasts compliment the shape and vice versa. I think the end of the first etheree eludes to the next…”so much change, some delight”. Hope and resistance can go hand in hand when it comes to change.

    Like

  7. Kate Mia says:

    SMiLes.. mY FriEnd..
    to noW kNow i coUld
    hAve dancED decAdes
    eVerywHeRe i go.. inStead
    oF jUst 33 months.. iS to hope
    tHat oTHeRS hEar a mesSage
    oF LiFe iN steps of i.. WORDS.. tHeRe
    iS reAlly feW nows anYmore thAT are trUly
    hEard iN deep oF PasSioN.. overAll..
    foR words but steps
    mY friEnd..
    arE alWays
    heARd..
    wHetHeR
    ackNowledgED
    or Not.. and i suppose
    thaT iS why David dancED
    too then to sParK.. mY FRiEnD..
    Close to 90% of hUman reciprocal
    social communication is Non-Verbal..
    trUly an illness of the worLd noW iN teXt LoVe
    but as ‘they’ say.. move to where the acTioN iS2..;)

    Like

  8. Imelda says:

    Hope is a funny thing. The degree of hope is directly proportional to disappointment. Your piece, without saying it directly, evoked that disappointment well.

    This is a lovely prompt. Thank you for the chance to learn another poetry form.

    Like

  9. I enjoyed trying the form but couldn’t do a second stanza where one reverses the shape. My concentration span went for a loop. I loved your poem.

    Like

  10. […] to Dverse Poets Meet the Bar. Victoria C Slotto (re)introduces the […]

    Like

  11. Bryan Ens says:

    Love how you don’t state the risk of wind in the first stanza, but show its reality in the second.

    Like

  12. Poignant etheree. When I said you’d posted older ones, I meant in the body of your dVerse prompt. I was not implying you hadn’t written a new one – I was bolstering my guilt at using an old one myself!

    Like

  13. I loved how you used the Etheree form to subtly explore the duality of nature and man — reading all the entries today, I did notice how well-suited the form is to making such contrasts, and you play masterfully with that balanced/mirroring quality. The first stanza is packed with images, bright and alive with movement, while the second uses more abstract language and takes a more melancholy reflective turn… to my mind the poem is exploring how mankind’s unique propensity for deep self-consciousness and self-doubt presents a barrier when we strive to achieve the simple, thoughtless happiness we observe in nature. How difficult it is for us to simply live in the moment, instead of dwelling upon all that might go wrong…

    Thank you so much for providing this prompt. Writing and reading all these Etherees was a treat 😀

    Like

  14. Bodhirose says:

    Thanks for bringing the etheree back to me, Victoria. I do remember enjoying it the first go round. It is a fun form I think. I too noticed the contrast of the hopefulness of wildlife in the first and the disappointment we often feel when our dreams don’t manifest.

    Like

  15. Candy says:

    such wisdom in this. thanks for giving us a great example of the form to follow

    Like

  16. Truedessa says:

    First, thanks for the great prompt. Sometimes we forget to hold on to those dreams even during the storms of life. A lovely capture in words.

    Like

  17. Arcadia M says:

    I find this poem intriguing. I love this part:” i hoped for/
    (promised myself)/that dreams would always/stay on course,”
    And this part: “i built my castle in sand/forgot that wind could destroy it.”

    Like

  18. lillian says:

    The contrast you’ve achieved within the “back-to-back” forms is excellent. Especially like the words “feather-lined avian hope” in contrast to ” built my castle in sand.” The form really does lend itself ot contrast. Would that I had time to try another — using the back-to-back form. Another time perhaps….

    Like

  19. Loving the choice of the etheree, Victoria. It is like the yin-yang pf poetics. There is an inherent balance expressed.

    Like

  20. jillys2016 says:

    Thanks for choosing this form (do love form!) and for giving such grand examples. The symbolism of birds is always a delight and the balance of your poem is so well done. Bravo!

    Like

  21. hypercryptical says:

    A pair of wood pigeons were nesting in the bush directly at the window aside the French doors which almost touch this PC desk. Sadly for some unknown reason they have abandoned the nest. I feel a little disappointed as if I have missed the birth of life and so I understand your words.
    Anna :o]

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Grace says:

    I admire the contrast between two elements, nature and man ~ How we can learn a lot from the birds and nature when we are facing with changes and upheavals in our lives ~ Love the different attitude, one positive and engaging, the second part, filled with anxiety and despair ~

    Liked by 1 person

  23. kim881 says:

    I love the way those two faces are so distinct, with the descriptive and very detailed concrete image of the birds, nature, and then the uncertainty of human dreams.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Misky says:

    Wonderful execution of this fun form. Loved the poem and prompt, Victoria, and many thanks for the inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Whistles! ❤❤ wonderful set of etherees Victoria 😀 I am so glad you pulled out this form for us. It was a lot of fun playing with it. Love the image of blue jay building a nest for its little ones 🙂 and dreams taking their chances with fate. Beautifully rendered.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

  26. dVerse has done that for me, too. I’ve fallen in love with the discipline of form poetry and I think it even enhances our skills with free form.

    Like

  27. Mary says:

    There is always more to your poems that one reads with a surficial view. Yours are poems to read, savor, read again, and digest. I tried to picture that blue jay. Really their tasks to stay alive are so challenging. In your poem I SAW this. And, as for the second one, I think we all hope that our dreams stay on course; but sometimes they are derailed. But somehow we always find a new one

    Liked by 1 person

  28. This is a wonderful example what you could do with the form, especially the second triangle where you made it into melancholy, there is a balance of the form where you can use it so…

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Fate is capricious as is life. Very beautiful and well-crafted!

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Glenn Buttkus says:

    This was a fascinating prompt, V. ; had some fun with it. I keyed off Bjorn, so let the geometric form get centered, but I like what you did with it too; even though it comes out similar to the various shapes I usually let my lines take. dVerse has really allowed me to take chances & progress.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

