Mood-Making Meter–dVerse Meeting the Bar


Photo: pixabay.com Labeled for Non-Commercial Reuse

Photo: pixabay.com
Labeled for Non-Commercial Reuse

Sum…Sum…Summertime!

The sun is up,
come, let us play
in garden’s blooms—
what do you say?

See lady bugs
and buzzing bees;
the sun peeks through
the aspen trees.

Make daisy chains
or pies from mud;
drink in the scents
of pink rose buds.

We’ll play till night
then count the stars
till mama calls,
bids us indoors.

And then we’ll dream
of the next day,
for school is out.
Come on, let’s play!

I’m hosting today at dVerse Meeting the Bar where we are discussing how meter influences mood. I wrote this poem in strict dimeter–two beats per line. I will let you tell me the mood. The basis for my prompt came from Mary Oliver’s “The Poetry Handbook,” her how-to book. Even though she writes, for the most part, in free verse, if you pay close attention, she uses meter, albeit freely. This poem is sing-song because of its strict attention to both meter and rhyme. She suggests mixing it up a bit to avoid that effect but, since this is clearly a poem for little ones, I’ve made it that way. That enables them to memorize and appeals to their sense of rhythm. I hope to have time to post a second with different meter and mood.

Please join us today and if you do, don’t talk about the mood you are trying to create. Let the reader guess and hopefully share their thoughts in comments.

22 thoughts on “Mood-Making Meter–dVerse Meeting the Bar

  1. kanzensakura says:

    Oh how I love this! Such gorgeous playful words. Yes, we are little girls and I am proud of it.

    Like

  2. Oh my! This brought back all the memories of lost childhood summers-the best times ever! Lovely work!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Harkening back to childhood with your adept use of meter and rhyme. You make it look so easy, Victoria. I need work on this. Thanks for your prompt today.

    Like

  4. lillian says:

    The mood is FUN! 🙂 Just now getting to my reading — of the poems that is. Hilarious reading of all the comments at the bar. How I loved making mud pies. Do kids even do that anymore? Are they allowed to? 🙂 Fun fun fun!

    Like

  5. whimsygizmo says:

    YES! There’s such a la la la feeling here! Pure joy, and childhood and fun. Let’s! Let’s!

    Like

  6. Raivenne says:

    This is delightful. So happy! And yes, it’s perfect for children.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. jillys2016 says:

    I love this playful mood and lilting meter! Perhaps I won’t work today; come! let us go out and play 🙂 And in case you haven’t noticed yet, I LOVE this prompt; thank you, thank you, thank you!
    (I, too, will be writing in other meters – not sure if they will get linked, but definately posted.)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. kim881 says:

    This is so playful and joyful, Victoria, and an excellent example of how metre helps to create mood, providing the drum and bass section of a poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Bryan Ens says:

    I see a cold skipping down the sidewalk to a friend’s house to ask her to come and play. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Yours really does engender happiness. I agree with you that even free verse should contain an element of rhythm.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Very sweet poem. I get the joyous mood of a childhood memory.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Bodhirose says:

    What a cheerful, lighthearted poem, Victoria. Reminds me of the long days of summer vacation from school and staying out late playing after dinner…until Mama called.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. A sweetly crafted poem, Victoria. A great children’s poem that does the prompt proud.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Beautiful!! Love the carefree image and tone of this poem 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I think the meter and rhyme is just perfect for little ones – it made me smile 🙂
    Thank you for hosting!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. lovely, happy poem 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Misky says:

    This is charming, Victoria!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Grace says:

    I love the happy and carefree childhood days Victoria ~ Thanks for the lesson!

    Like

  19. Sue says:

    Neat example!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I love how the simple dimeter makes it sounds like that sweet childhood, when summer spread eternal wings in front of us… a perfect illustration.

    Like

  21. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Wow, a perfect illustration of your prompt; & the joyous mood appeals to the inner child of us all. I found this challenge daunting, so went with blank verse & several meters.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

