Adieu, Chere Amie–Poetic Bloomings, Day 6


Photo: David Slotto

Photo: David Slotto

Adieu, Ma Chère Amie
A Triolet for Viv

Summer is like a fragile bird—
her beauty fills our world with bliss,
her song surpasses spoken word.

Summer is like a fragile bird—
too soon she falls, no longer heard.
Her soul takes flight from this abyss.

Summer is like a fragile bird.
A poet falls, her presence missed.

I struggled with this poem that I’m linking to Poetic Bloomings Day 6. Both the form and the topic stretched me. We were asked to do a summer simile using the Triolet form. Yesterday morning, I learned of the loss of Viv Blake, a poet well-known to many of us, and well-loved by myself…both of us in our senior years and she lived in Normandy, whereas, years ago, I, in Brittany–next door neighbors, so to speak. The irony in this poem is that, if I remember correctly, Viv tossed out Triolets with ease. I never found that form or the Villanelle easy to write. Give me a Sestina any day!

God speed, lovely lady, and thank you for blessing my life.

Photo: Viv Blake, Blog Gravatar

Photo: Viv Blake, Blog Gravatar

On a whim, I’m adding Mr. Linky, in case anyone would like to add their tribute to Viv…poetry or prose.

9 thoughts on “Adieu, Chere Amie–Poetic Bloomings, Day 6

  1. She’d have enjoyed your lovely triolet. She never met a form she wouldn’t try!

    Like

  2. smilecalm says:

    may she continue
    inspiring you and others

    Like

  3. Mish says:

    I just added my attempt at a triolet for Viv. My rhyme scheme is not true to form, but I hope she would approve. What a thoughtful idea to add a Mr.Linky for others. I’m so sorry for the loss you are feeling for a dear blogging friend. ((hugs))

    Like

  4. MarinaSofia says:

    A lovely tribute to a wonderful poet and true lady. Well done. I’m getting a tear in my eye as I read this.

    Like

  5. Mish says:

    This flows with ease and there is a sense of peace in your words despite the pain of loss. Very beautiful, Victoria.

    Like

  6. I’m so sorry to hear this. We did exchange a few comments and I read about her childhood in a place not far from my own too. It is a very moving poem and life is short and fragile.

    Like

  7. You have done really well – this is lovely

    Like

  8. Oh this is so well done… such a loss to us all, Viv would have been so pleased with this this Victoria.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

