Communing with Robin Red Breast


communing with robin red breast
a quadrille

he surprised me
perched outside my window
breast puffed out as it was
beneath open wings
(undersides also red)

there he remained
as i wrote
daring me to immortalize
his beauty

two stellar jays
scared him from
the empty nest
he’d built
months earlier

Photo: VSlotto The view from my office window.

Photo: VSlotto
The view from my office window.

This is the second poem I’m posting for my Quadrille prompt at dVerse Poets’ Pub. A Quadrille is a poem of exactly 44 words and for this week’s prompt your poem should use the word “OPEN.” My first submission is found here.

When I was reading and commenting on the poems submitted to the prompt, a large male red breast just sat there, staring at me (or more likely, at his reflection in the window). I didn’t have my camera or phone to get his photo, so I just shared the tree. I was really surprised to see that the wings are red underneath. And the bit about the blue jays really did happen.

12 thoughts on “Communing with Robin Red Breast

  1. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    Interesting! ()We don’t have either of these birds where I live.)

    Like

  2. I’ve had a few poetic encounters with robins myself. Excellent birds for collaboration. 😉

    Like

  3. frankhubeny says:

    I liked the part about the jays scaring the robin away earlier and the slats of the window shade in the picture of the tree.

    Like

  4. sMiLes.. my FriEnd
    i find ‘wildlife’
    everywhere..
    juSt
    ‘asKing’
    to be iN
    A Longest Long Form Poem..
    perHaps.. one IS A Robin too..
    Unfortunately.. most Birds
    cannot open the poem
    up but that
    will change..
    eventuAlly..
    then.. even if..
    Robins.. never know..;)

    Like

  5. Truedessa says:

    I often get caught in the moment when I am bird watching. They are so enchanting.

    Like

  6. rosemawrites says:

    awwwwww. can see them vividly through your words Ms. Victoria. 😉 ❤

    Like

  7. […] In response to dVerse‘s Opening to the Muse–dVerse Quadrille #16 by Ms. Victoria C. Slotto who also wrote her own piece here. […]

    Like

  8. Beautiful! You have captured and made him eternal in this quadrille ❤

    Like

  9. kim881 says:

    So glad to see the robin’s still there!

    Like

  10. Sumana Roy says:

    awww…you do immortalize his beauty…

    Like

  11. I do love when you find such drama outside your window… here it’s been squirrel fighting (I thing are youngsters)

    Like

  12. whimsygizmo says:

    Oh, those noisy stellar jays. We know them well. This hops along nicely, Victoria. Happy you were able to share this robin moment.

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

