The Poet Dies


This week, I have the pleasure of hosting the Quadrille at dVerse Poets. The form calls for a poem of exactly 44 words, excluding the title, and calls for the inclusion of a specific word. The word I chose for this week is SOUND.

Photo: Victoria Slotto

The Poet Dies

At dusk,
I watch the sun write poetry
(descending)
choose words with care:
birdsong,
flight
amber, gold
and majesty

at a distance
the sound of an approaching train
spills melancholy, loss,
toning the final stanza with pain
as he slips, wordlessly,
beyond the Sierra.

I hope you will be able to join in this week with a soundly written poem. The prompt is open all week! The pub opens at 1500 EDT on Monday.

46 thoughts on “The Poet Dies

  1. Singledust says:

    i used to cry when i heard the train whistle blow and sound moving off away from me, taking someone I loved away – your quadrille brought back such memories.

    Like

  2. […] Victoria C. Slotto is hosting at the D’Verse Pub for the Sound Off Quadrille  and she says – “I have a sound (adjective) reason for sharing this with you today and ask you now to use the word SOUND in a poem, following the very fun Quadrille form, a poem that soundly (adverb) embraces exactly 44 words, excluding the title. Check out the dictionary. I found a plethora of ways to sound-off. Maybe you will even want to play with assonance, consonance or one of the many ways that sound adds beauty, texture or feeling to a poem.” […]

    Like

  3. Olga says:

    Hi Victoria. All has been said in your wonderful comments. I felt the emotions in your ‘sound’ story; from joy to melancholy. ❤

    Like

  4. Imelda says:

    ah, what a sensory experience. With your words, I heard the train approaching and then going away.

    Like

  5. Janice says:

    I like this very much Victoria the effective use of single words, changing voice….

    Like

  6. merrildsmith says:

    This is so lovely. The melancholy train sound is perfect.

    Like

  7. rosemawrites says:

    siiiigh. ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ that opening lines are just so beautiful! love this, Victoria!

    Like

  8. mandibelle16 says:

    I really love your imagery it’s beautiful and set up well until we hear that sound of the train which seems to lift the beauty and highlights the loss of the sun slipping into darkness, the sadness this creates.

    Like

  9. Ryan Stone says:

    “…as he slips, wordlessly, / beyond the Sierra” – wow! This is such a beautiful poem, Victoria. The concept of the sun writing poetry as it sets is fantastic and the trainsong adds a perfect note. I thoroughly enjoyed this prompt and your lovely poem. Thank you 🙂

    Like

  10. ladynyo says:

    Such melancholy here….but after Manchester, all seems the same to me. Lovely, though, Victoria.

    Like

  11. colorfulpen says:

    I love the sights and sounds in this. Gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. qbit says:

    “I watch the sun write poetry” — really great image.

    Like

  13. …an approaching train spills melancholy, loss…”. Wonderful!

    Like

  14. This is beautiful. I can feel the melancholy.

    Like

  15. frankhubeny says:

    I liked how nature wrote the final stanza for the dying poet.

    Like

  16. Cynthia says:

    Gorgeous, I love the warmth of the initial lines, and I too remember the melancholy of a train in the distance as a child, you’ve caught it.

    Like

  17. Love the idea of choosing words with care, as if each sun beam has been carefully placed to glorify God.

    Like

  18. Truedessa says:

    The sun does write beautiful poetry as do you! I am sure the sunrise will offer a new verse as well.

    Like

  19. Bodhirose says:

    Beautiful opening lines, Victoria, with that sun writing poetry and then that melancholy train…they always seem to sound that way. I could hear one from my bedroom at night as a child.

    Like

  20. Wow. Very descriptive. I like this take on the prompt.

    Like

  21. You’ve packed so many vivid pictures and sounds in only 44 words. Beautiful!

    Like

  22. jillys2016 says:

    Amber & gold – perfect word choices!

    Like

  23. Waltermarks says:

    Watching the sun die at evening, and disappear in the sienna. That’s really beautiful

    Like

  24. ihatepoetry says:

    Gorgeous and plaintive, this is.

    Like

  25. Jericho says:

    “At dusk,
    I watch the sun write poetry”

    That’s a poem, all by itself.

    “amber, gold” … I love these two words together like that.

    Like

  26. sanaarizvi says:

    You had me at ‘at a distance the sound of an approaching train spills melancholy, loss’ .. sigh.. beautifully poignant.

    Like

  27. kim881 says:

    This is just gorgeous, Victoria!

    Like

  28. The sun as poet, I love this. It’s a striking piece. Enjoyed the prompt as well, thanks for hosting!

    Like

  29. Oh, you set the scene so skillfully. I savor the sounds and mood, and I hear that distant train!

    Liked by 1 person

  30. You created a soundscape here Victoria but added vibrant colour and texture too. Wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Love the haunting beauty of this piece. You hooked me at lonesome train sounds. It seems I have always lived somewhere in ear-shot of a train, & their coyote howls at two in the morning always color my dreams. isn’t it grand that with each death of day, if we survive the darkness, we are greeted with the birth of a new day, a new poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. This is such a richly textured poem, full of a central story that is never quite answered… which I like!

    Liked by 1 person

  33. whimsygizmo says:

    Swoooooooooning at this:
    “At dusk,
    I watch the sun write poetry”

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Grace says:

    I love your opening lines with the sun writing poetry, majestic gold and slipping wordlessly beyond the Sierra ~ I can picture that train at a distance by the mountains ~

    Liked by 1 person

  35. What a gorgeous sound picture, with such beautiful colours too.

    Liked by 1 person

  36. I really love this, to me this has a sense of a symphony with those gentle song and then the melancholy of a leaving train.

    Liked by 1 person

  37. A beautiful quadrille Victoria, I love how your sun writes poetry, choosing her words with so much care :o) xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  38. lillian says:

    Hello Victoria! So GOOD to be back with my morning writing, hot steaming cup of coffee and reading.
    I love the idea of the Sun as Poet…..and the word choices made in the descending. And then the train’s haunting sounds as the final stanza. Beautifully done. I can extrapolate to thinking about each day as a poem in the making…our footsteps leading us to words….ah you’ve got me thinking now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  39. ghostmmnc says:

    Beautiful poem! It’s wonderful you’re hosting the Q44 this week! That’s cool, you got the 44 words in one try. I’ve come close, and yes, you do get a feel for how long/short it is. Hope you’ve had a lovely weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  40. If you write enough Quadrilles, you get a feel for the 44 word limit. I hit that on my first draft!

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

