For the month of July, Jilly is offering a wonderful prompt on collaborative poetry. At the end of this post, I will give you the basics as she presented them, but be sure to visit her site where she gives an inspirational introduction.

In this post, I have written the first half of a poem. The challenge is for one of you to complete it and post it, following Jilly’s instructions.

This poem is written in tercets, 3-line poetry, without rhyme but using  an iambic beat, regardless of the number of iambs. Looking at the first line of this poem, the beat is da DUM da DUM da DUM da DUM da DUM da DUM da DUM–that is, the heavy accent on the DUM, there being 7 iambs. I’ve numbered the rest of them. If you would like to play with my half to make it all the same, go for it.

7-5-17 Revision to add stanzas contributed by Maureen Sudlow and Jilly, the hostess of this prompt. Maureen’s are in Green and Jilly, in Purple.

7-7-17 Another revision, adding stanza’s by Charley in Brown. Great sift from being to doing.

Photo: David Slotto

 

Who Am I, You Ask

I am the tiny finch who fills the air with song at dawn. (7)
I am the bronze of sun on snow-capped hills. (5)
I am the play of wind upon the leafy ash. (6)

I am the ocean’s waves caressing sand and shells. (6)
I am the youthful fool—reckless, full of joy. (6–the dash as a soft beat)
I am the ache of old ones shuttered in the dark. (6)

I am the crumpled fading leaves
the glint of sun on foam-capped waves
I am the dust of planets born

I am the healing for the ancients breaking down the glass. 
I am the wisdom found in children – secreting the glee. 
I am the torrent deep who shapes the distant shores and sky. 

I am the wicked gale that tears the fertile blooms. 
I am the cresting dawn on valleys warm and lush. 
I am the eagle strong who silences the song.

I sing in many voices dawn and dusk that man ignores.
I bring the beauty forth in nature’s palates pure.
I breathe comfort that cools the heat or melts the snow.

I rock oceans deep, the stormy crash or gentle lull.
I energize the heated youth who sings out praise.
I agitate the longing for a final rest, a rescue home. 

HERE ARE JILLY’S ABBREVIATED INSTRUCTIONS:

The July Challenge is basically this:  Write half of a poem and open it up to fellow Challengers to finish it.  Since we are all fabulous poets, the greater challenge of this will not be the poetry, but the logistics, so I am including the steps.

  1. Write the first half of a poem
  2. Post it on your blog with a link back here to The July Challenge
  3. Include a little something about the form you are using. Is it Free Verse, Sonnet, Quadrille, etc?
  4. If you are using a form, please give a link to a site that explains that form or just give a little refresher.

HERE IS THE LINK TO JILLY’S JULY CHALLENGE: COLLABORATIVE POETRY

 

Jilly’s July Challenge–Collaborative Poetry, Revised

10 thoughts on “Jilly’s July Challenge–Collaborative Poetry, Revised

  1. jillys2016 says:

    Hi Victoria! Care to offer feedback on the July Challenge of Collaborative Poetry? I would welcome that and I followed your instructions for using a Linky. (Hope it works!)
    https://jillys2016.wordpress.com/2017/07/10/july-challenge-wrap-up/

    Like

  2. Charley says:

    I enjoyed this! I hope this is in some way keeping the spirit of your original poem. https://lifeinportofino.wordpress.com/2017/07/06/who-am-i-you-ask-charleys-attempt/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] Slotto posted Who Am I, You Ask (the first half of the poem above) as a part of Jill’s Casting Bricks July challenge.  I, […]

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] with Victoria Slotto is a most satisfying experience and a tremendous honor.  Her tercets in Who Am I, You Ask made me feel right at home with its iambic meter.  Here, then, is my completion of her July […]

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jillys2016 says:

    Ok, Victoria, I found this quaint new coffee shop with a great writing vibe. I have your words and explanation pasted onto a word doc & I am SO looking forward to completing it! I adore that picture and the ‘I am the…’ format resonates with me!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am the crumpled fading leaves
    the glint of sun on foam-capped waves
    I am the dust of planets born

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

