Shapeshifting–a Quadrille


Photo: Public Domain
Eagle Nebula Dust Pillar

Shapeshifting
a Quadrille

Today I am horse,
surging power trampling fear—
carry me onward.

Just a lowly frog
croaking humble songs of praise,
ever mindful love.

Butterfly woman—
eternal transformation
beyond death’s darkness.

At last I’m eagle,
soaring to mountainous realms
touching Divinity.

Now I dream tomorrow.

Linking to my favorite prompt–dVerse Quadrille. Please join us with a poem of exactly 44 words, not including the title, using the word DREAM in the body of the poem. I chose an old poem from 2011 and revised it to meet the requirements of the form.

We are in the midst of a kitchen remodel so I may be slow to visit but will get around eventually.

24 thoughts on “Shapeshifting–a Quadrille

  1. mandibelle16 says:

    Beautiful images Victoria! Great use of the picture!

    Like

  2. Olga says:

    I almost feel like, in some of my dreams, I am not myself, but looking through another’s eyes. Maybe shapeshifting. Interesting concept. Yes, we do dream tomorrow. Loved your poetic piece, Victoria. ❤

    Like

  3. lynn__ says:

    Wow, gorgeous imagery makes dreaming spirit sing!

    Like

  4. Wonderful descriptions of all the animals and all the possibilities in dreams!

    Like

  5. I love this! How many shapes we can take is astounding–our roles, work, time of life, everything is a new shape that can shift at any moment. Thanks for this.

    Like

  6. annell4 says:

    Tomorrow is but a dream…horse, frog, woman or eagle, shape-shifting for sure.

    Like

  7. maria says:

    Oh, I wouldn’t mind having these dreams!

    Like

  8. A wonderful analogy of shape shifting, dreams and nebula. Perfect!

    Like

  9. Truedessa says:

    Shape-shifting, ah that is the dreamscape for sure. The possibilities are endless. Your poem has fragments of my own dreams.

    Like

  10. Love the animal imagery in this, Victoria.

    Like

  11. You packed so much into 44 words! I’m in awe.

    Like

  12. kanzensakura says:

    I love this Victoria. The animals in the dream – those spirits are close sometimes, aren’t they? I love the last line in this. Simply and fantastically lovely.

    Like

  13. Charley says:

    Celestial dreams; tightly packed quadrille.

    Like

  14. Waltermarks says:

    I’d like to Transform in dream land. Something good, yours sound good. What are you having before bedtime? I can’t remember most of mine

    Like

  15. Grace says:

    I wish I can be – transforming to different animials, specially the eagle ~

    Like

  16. Glenn Buttkus says:

    One night of rain here, and wind off the coast. and presto, the smoke is gone, and all’s right with the sky. Your third stanza nailed my shoes to the floor–very good utilization of merely 44 wordly ingredients.

    Like

  17. hypercryptical says:

    Lovely words of transformation.
    Anna :o]

    Like

  18. Frank Hubeny says:

    Nice series of transformations.

    Like

  19. Wonderful animal spirits in your dreams Victoria, a lovely set of transformations :o) xxx

    Like

  20. kim881 says:

    Fantastic dreams, Victoria, especially the horse ‘surging power trampling fear’ and the eagle ‘touching Divinity’.

    Like

  21. I wish I could have dreams as vivid as those… sounds wonderful.

    Like

  22. De Jackson says:

    Such vivid, gorgeous images.

    Like

  23. What a lovely idea!

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.

