Monday Morning Writing Prompt–Dream On


Here’s a prompt to help you get started on a new week of writing. Write a poem or flash fiction using a dream you remember, one that sticks with you. If you don’t remember your dreams, use your imagination!

Here’s one I wrote last spring. I was, at the time, reading a book on American Indian spirituality and dreamt about shape-shifting.

Image: Wikipedia

Dream

Last night I dreamt of
feathers and shape-shifting.
Today a wren perches on a naked branch
outside my window.
By afternoon
the tree is in full bloom.

13 thoughts on “Monday Morning Writing Prompt–Dream On

  1. ashbeezone says:

    I would like to join in this contest
    as i’m presenting you my new creation …

    Examination


    please enroll me !!

    Like

  2. Jingle says:

    It Is Just A Bad Dream

    it is a dream,
    have fun laughing at my nightmare…

    Thanks for the fun.
    Happy Monday!

    Like

  3. Jingle says:

    lovely piece.

    got your email,
    thanks…

    Poetry/Writing Communities

    there are many many writing challenges, I let people choose, my link offer many,
    I am very occupied with stuff, I feel free to do what I think I might, but not under any obligation or pressure…

    Thanks for the information.

    Like

    • I understand. I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed right now myself. If it becomes a burden then it defeats the purpose, doesn’t it? I will be going to Southern CA on Thursday for a family celebration of my mother’s 90th (!) brithday. I suspect I will have a few days without “poeming” and without blogging. I am giving her a handmade poetry book. If you have time, perhaps you could help celebrate her. If not, that’s okay too. Her name is Brigid.
      xo Victoria

      Like

  4. Bodhirose says:

    What a great idea for a prompt. I have many dreams that I have written down because they have been profound (like your shape-shifting dream) or very meaningful.

    I love this dream/poem of shifting forms and a miraculous tree.

    Gayle xoxo

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.