Monday Morning Writing Prompt–a Rant


Yelling Man

Image by Orange Steeler via Flickr

Life brings its moments of joy and it often seems easy to write about those: romance, the beauty of a moment in nature, children, pets.

It seems those experiences are highlighted when contrasted with events that are filled with frustration. You only have to open a newspaper to understand what I’m talking about.

For today’s writing prompt, I’d like you to zero in on something that you find frustrating or even anger-provoking. Write an essay if you will, a short story in which someone vents his spleen, or try this poetic form known as a rant.

A rant is usually written in free verse and so may tempt even those of you with poetic-phobia to give it a try. The topic should be kept to one (preferably exasperating) subject and explored from all angles and in excruciating detail. The writing is usually in the present tense.

I hope you will participate and invite some newcomers to join in as well. Remember that you can write poetry, essay or a short story and there is no deadline. Please post a link to your work in the comment sections of this post.

Here is my effort. Although rhyming is not part of the rant form, this is how it happened. This needs editing, so your input and suggestions are welcome.

Love Song to TSA

A Rhyming Rant

 

“Now, take off your shoes, jacket and hat.”

I take a deep breath, prepare for a pat-

down—here, there, all around—

(love being touched by some arrogant clown)

Keepin’ us safe, invadin’ our space.

Can’t take much more. “Hey, open that case!”

Shoulda stayed home and read a good book.

“Back through the x-ray; I want a good look.”

Next time I travel I’ll fly in the nude.

Just makin’ it easy, not tryin’ to be lewd.

 

12 thoughts on “Monday Morning Writing Prompt–a Rant

  1. Hi Victoria,

    I experienced an over-the-top pat down at the airport on a vacation I took in December. It was a woman but, I swear, she was enjoying herself a little too much. I swore off travel. I refuse to be someones fantasy.

    I hadn’t realized how many things I had to “Rant” about. This is one of the ones that bothered me the most. But, I could go on.

    thanks,
    Isadora

    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2011/07/14/is-it-cell-phone-hell

    Like

  2. LOL! Wonderful rant! You might enjoy this TSA related limerick I wrote last year on my other (political) blog.

    Like

  3. Trisha says:

    ha! good one 🙂

    Like

  4. jgavinallan says:

    Wow! I could see you face and hear your tone…you scared the “heck” out of me…
    Jaye
    hugs
    I’m still shaking

    Like

  5. dani says:

    your rant made me smile. ♥ i’ve never heard of a rant before {except for when i rant and rave} ~ thanks for the prompt! here’s mine:

    http://haikulovesongs.wordpress.com/2011/07/10/sloooooow/

    Like

  6. […] Monday Morning Writing Prompt   at   liv2write2day’s Blog prompt:   write a rant […]

    Like

  7. Bodhirose says:

    This was an easy one for me–this rant is still bubbling under the surface! I really like yours too, Victoria–very cute for a rant.

    You’re Kidding!

    Like

  8. […] My entry for Monday Morning Writing Prompt:  A Rant  https://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2011/07/10/monday-morning-writing-prompt-a-rant/ […]

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.