Write2Day–Writing from the Light Side


English: Binswood Avenue in the sun and snow. ...

Image via Wikipedia

This will be a somewhat short post, since I’m compelled to give my elbow tendonitis a rest. Last week we discussed writing from the dark side. We all know, there’s plenty of darkness to go around. So today, in order to add contrast to our writer’s palette, let’s light up the place…an appropriate topic for this season of the year when so many traditions celebrate light in one form or another. Think of Hanukkah, Christmas, Kwanza, Winter Solstice, Diwali…all celebrations that revolve in one way or another around light.

So, for today’s prompt, consider writing about your celebrations of light–or light sources such as the moon, the sun, stars or candles. Maybe you would like to post a humorous piece or something with bright happy colors. How about an event that features joy: children at play, dancing, or music. Take it wherever you like, but let’s get out of the doldrums for this week’s prompt.

To participate:
Write your poem or short prose and post it to your blog.
Access Mr. Linky at the bottom of this post.
Include your name and the direct URL to your poem.
Visit and comment on other participants.

You will find my poem for dVerse OLN in the previous post!

Next week at dVerse I will be hosting Meeting the Bar (Thursday, 3 PM EST). In that post, I will focus in more depth on the subject of contrast. Hope to see you there as well.

12 thoughts on “Write2Day–Writing from the Light Side

  1. zongrik says:

    i put up a poem about the stars of Orion

    Like

  2. munchow says:

    A great idea. I will see if I can find time to participate, but anyway I think it’s time for something from the lighter side.

    Like

  3. claudia says:

    hope your elbow is better already victoria.. great prompt, wish i had seen it earlier but was a crazy busy week.. now looking forward to the meeting the bar contrast post… by the way..you were spot on with what you wrote over at my place..

    Like

  4. tigerbrite says:

    I have posted something about planet cyberluz (the planet of light) that I wrote when I started my blog.
    I hope your elbow is better soon.

    Like

  5. I did light on my blog a few days ago as part of my Advent Calendar (of sorts) but it’s not fiction so I won’t add it to the linky. You can find it here though.

    Like

  6. Bodhirose says:

    Sorry to hear of your elbow trouble, Victoria…hope it’s better soon. I just visited with my favorite little boy yesterday–a real light in my life. My write is homage to him!

    Like

  7. […] from the Light:  https://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2011/12/14/write2day-writing-from-the-light-side/ GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

    Like

  8. brian miller says:

    i am back…and i am in victoria

    Like

  9. […] at Victoria’s blog, liv2write2day, she talks about writing from the light perspective we may have on life. Its a natural progression […]

    Like

  10. ManicDdaily says:

    Hi Victoria–light is a wonderful thing to think about any time of year. Mine is not a new poem, but I’ve been thinking a lot about a poem relating to light that I haven’t been able to write down yet–so a very prompt prompt! Thanks, as always, for your thoughtful words. K.

    Like

  11. brian miller says:

    nice…ok, starting to think…will be back tomorrow..light is a good choice for this time of year…we went to the local light shows last weekend

    Like

  12. wolfsrosebud says:

    cool pick for this time of the year

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.