Immersed in Poetry


Yesterday, I received an invitation to participate in a blog “Poets’ Rally” and I accepted. One of the conditions is to visit and review 18 other participants’ poems. It was an inspiring, if time-consuming process and I’m glad I did it. I’d like to continue and plan on doing so although it carved a big hole in my own writing time. I experienced poems from every corner of the globe, some of them writing in English as a second language.

One reflection on why it took a long time to do the reviews: I believe that when we accept the responsibility of stepping into another’s writing space, we need to spend some time and effort to give both encouragement and constructive feedback. I noticed most (if not all) of the feedback was positive. As a newbie to the process, I felt more comfortable following the same blueprint. That wasn’t hard to do because there were truly some good poems out there, but, for myself, I want to know what works and what doesn’t work so that I can grow and improve.

The best part was seeing how many younger people are interested in (and writing) poetry. (Most of the sites I visited were hosted by young adults). That gives me hope that the dismal prognostications we read about the death of the poetic artful are not well-founded.

You may want to pay a visit to Jingle’s blog:
http://jingleyanqui.wordpress.com/

See for yourself.

6 thoughts on “Immersed in Poetry

  1. Anky0112 says:

    Thank you for encouraging us by visiting our blogs…

    viva la vida 🙂

    Like

  2. frayedges says:

    I agree- it’s so nice to see what others are creating. You have a beautiful blog here.

    Like

  3. Jingle says:

    Agreement 4 Poets Rally Week 27 First Time Participants

    I forgot to ask you to sign in, first time participants must know the policy here.
    thanks for the attention.

    Like

  4. Lisa says:

    I so appreciate your candor and lovely writing. The other participants in the rally (what a great idea) are lucky to have you there, paying attention.

    I passed along a blog award to you today: http://lisarivero.com/2010/08/27/interview-and-blog-awards/

    Like

  5. Jingle says:

    Friendship Means A World 2 Me

    u r such a gem in our poets Rally,
    thanks for the active participation…

    pick three awards from my post,
    pass them to 1 to 10 blogging friends with whom you believe that they deserve them.
    have fun!
    Take good care.
    😉

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.