In Praise of Early Dawn–dVerse Poetics


Photo: Phil Mosby

Photo: Phil Mosby

In Praise of Early Dawn
a Haibun

Five-thirty AM. Most of Reno still asleep, I join only a few cars traveling South on West McCarran Boulevard, elevated above the city. In darkness, stark cardboard-cutouts of the mountains to the East hug the basin of crystal lights. Earth holds her breath, waiting for the new day to unfold.

Within the hour, I’m driving back up the hill. Behind me, the sun peeps over the horizon, cracks open the cloud cover and spews blood-red streaks across the sky. I celebrate a new beginning.

early autumn morn
sun breaks through mysteries
pray always, he says

Written for Walt’s prompt at dVerse Poetics where we are celebrating.

12 thoughts on “In Praise of Early Dawn–dVerse Poetics

  1. Mish says:

    I felt like a passenger on your scenic drive. A beautiful haibun, Victoria.
    My favourite part of the journey ..” Behind me, the sun peeps over the horizon, cracks open the cloud cover’

    Like

  2. Mark says:

    I love the capture of early morning moments. They are the best time of day.

    Like

  3. Bryan Ens says:

    Oh I LOVE that final line of the haiku! So much to pay Thanks for in this world!

    Like

  4. I really like how you paint here Victoria.. the cardboard of the mountain is especially precise and feel so unique

    Like

  5. Sue says:

    Some great lines, Victoria. I love ‘Earth holds her breath’ and ‘sun breaks through mysteries’ Great evocation of sunrise…..

    Like

  6. kim881 says:

    ‘Sun breaks through mysteries’ – I love that!

    Like

  7. All beauty in heart and soul! Such a wonderful poet!

    Like

  8. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    “The earth holds her breath..” sigh..❤️ such a lovely image, Victoria 😀 and new beginnings are always fun to celebrate ❤️ Beautifully executed.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Like

  9. Grace says:

    My favorite time of the day….love the new day unfolding, a new beginning ~

    Like

  10. ‘Earth holds her breath’….sighhhhhhh.

    Like

  11. Misky says:

    I love watching the sun rise, and you’ve described it so well, Victoria.

    Like

  12. A beautiful celebration in a lovely haibun!

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.