loss–dVerse Haibun Monday, Hanami


loss

When cherry blossoms
scatter –
no regrets

Issa

I slept last night beneath our cherry tree, its branches bare of blossoms after the early freeze—this loss, a surprise, much like the morning I awakened and you were gone. Life goes on, so the cliché would have me believe, but the void inside looms, ever-present, like the weight of snow this seemingly endless winter.

Am I to believe that love will return, much like the cherry blossoms I hope for in another springtime?

Will I be one with you again, once I follow you into the void? I reach for the soft assurance of the touch of satin, the flowering branch I culled before cruel winds doused my hope. I listen to silence.

hanami whispers
what appears lost shall return
do not be afraid

Today a dVerse Haibun Monday, Kansen Sakura invites us to consider the Japanese concept of hanami. What? You don’t know what that is? Come over to dVerse and learn about it.

My reflections on the Easter Season which many of us celebrated yesterday influenced my haibun–what do the seasons, typified here in the mystique of cherry blossoms, have to teach us about doubt and faith?

Photo: dautrich Labeled for noncommercial reuse

Photo: dautrich
Labeled for noncommercial reuse

 

 

21 thoughts on “loss–dVerse Haibun Monday, Hanami

  1. Kate Mia says:

    sMiLes..
    mY friEnd..
    whEn LoVe
    iS ReaL iT
    LiVeS on..

    TrUly..
    thaT’s
    aLL i kNow..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can feel the deep loss and pain in your words .As the seasons move forward, we must trust that hope and renewal return again. A very moving piece.

    Like

  3. nmykel says:

    I was touched by the flowering branch I culled before cruel winds doused my hope. I listen to silence. The photo complements perfectly. All in all, a fairy tale. Would that it were true!

    Like

  4. Your note on the deeper meditation within is valuable…your poetry shares the metaphor well. Beautiful work.

    Like

  5. Ayala says:

    Beautifully written!

    Like

  6. kanzensakura says:

    “the void inside looms, ever-present, like the weight of snow this seemingly endless winter.” Oh Victoria….such an amazing line this is. The hanami of hope indeed. Gorgeous. in the same year, in March, I lost my grandmother, father, and grandfather who died from grief at the loss of my grandmother. It seems March tries to destroy my family – that the bad things happen in March. It is the hope of spring and the blossoms that has pulled me through the winter. Thank you so much for this haibun and haiku…

    Like

  7. Sad for your loss, yet comforted by your words of hope. Beautifully done, Victoria!

    Like

  8. Bryan Ens says:

    The sense of loss in this is palpable…but then your closing haiku gives so much hope!

    Like

  9. Misky says:

    I love that there’s hope in this poem.

    Like

  10. “the void inside looms, ever-present, like the weight of snow this seemingly endless winter.”
    So painful to read but bearable with it’s touch of hope. Lovely write

    Like

  11. Beautiful, painful hope. Wonderfully written!

    Like

  12. Kathy says:

    Bittersweet haibun, Victoria; I love the photo with the poem and how you expressed the loss and then hope. I trust living this life is for nothing. 😉

    Like

  13. kim881 says:

    Ah, the hanami of hope 😉

    Like

  14. ghostmmnc says:

    Very beautiful. I do believe it to be true, that the lost shall return!

    Like

  15. Mary says:

    Oh, I do believe we will be one with those we love again in the hereafter. We really must not be afraid!

    Like

  16. Bodhirose says:

    The winter cold and snow makes loss seem even more so. But the last line of your haiku gave me a quiver in my heart. I thought God was speaking to me…

    Like

  17. Grace says:

    And this is very moving Victoria ~ But your gorgeous haiku is filled with hope and courage ~ And we up here in Canada, are also looking out for the first budding of spring ~

    Like

  18. Two weeks ago now I watched the snow fall like cherry blossoms that would not be able to recover from that cold. yes we must hope for spring

    Like

  19. This I found so heart wrenching Victoria…..sometimes it is our faith that carries us through those moments when we seriously doubt the future. Beautifully done…..have a good day….

    Like

Your comment and feedback are important to me. Thank you.